NEWS RELEASE

16 September 2019

ATP CUP GROUPS & SCHEDULE ANNOUNCED FOLLOWING DRAW AT SYDNEY OPERA HOUSE

LONDON – The 19 countries already qualified for the inaugural ATP Cup were each assigned to one of six groups and host cities — Brisbane, Perth or Sydney — on Monday, following the official tournament draw at the Sydney Opera House. Ken Rosewall, John Newcombe, Patrick Rafter and Lleyton Hewitt took part in the ceremony for the 3-12 January 2020 event, which will provide a spectacular launch of the 2020 ATP Tour season.

Watch The ATP Cup Draw TV Show

Top seed Serbia, led by current World No. 1 Novak Djokovic, will play at the Pat Rafter Arena in Brisbane. Second seed Spain will headline the field in Perth, where World No. 2 Rafael Nadal will compete for the first time in his career.

Third seed Switzerland, spearheaded by World No. 3 Roger Federer, will play its group stage matches in Sydney at Ken Rosewall Arena, which is undergoing an AU\$50 million redevelopment in preparation for the tournament. Great Britain, who qualified by virtue of Andy Murray's Protected Ranking of 2, will play in Sydney, while host wild card Australia features in Brisbane.



DELIVERED IN PARTNERSHIP BY





NEWS RELEASE

View Schedule on ATPCup.com

Every member of the Top 10 in the ATP Rankings, and 27 of the Top 30, are committed to feature at the AU\$22 million/US\$15 million ATP Cup, which is being staged in partnership with Tennis Australia. Five further countries will qualify, on the second entry deadline of 13 November, for the 24-country ATP Cup based on the ranking of their No. 1 singles player.

Eight countries that win through the group stages in the three Australian cities will then play at the ATP Cup Final Eight in Sydney, which will feature quarter-finals over two days, semi-finals and a final. Each tie is comprised of two singles and one doubles match.

Tickets go on sale on Wednesday, 18 September at ATPCup.com.

Media Contact:

ATP - Simon Higson (simon.higson@atptour.com)

###

About the ATP Cup

The ATP Cup is an annual 24-country team competition featuring US\$15 million prize money and a maximum of 750 singles and 250 doubles ATP Rankings points. This ATP event is being staged in coordination with Tennis Australia. The ATP Cup will begin the ATP Tour each season and in 2020 will run 3-12 January. The tournament will be played over six days in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney. Eight teams will then advance to the final eight four-day knockout stage in Sydney.

About the ATP

The ATP is the governing body of the men's professional tennis circuits - the ATP Tour, the ATP Challenger Tour and the ATP Champions Tour. With 64 tournaments in 30 countries, the 2019 ATP Tour showcases the finest male athletes competing in the world's most exciting venues. From Australia to Europe and the Americas to Asia, the stars of the 2019 ATP Tour will battle for prestigious titles and ATP Rankings points at ATP Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, as well as Grand Slams (non-ATP events). At the end of the season only the world's top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams will qualify to compete for the last title of the season at the Nitto ATP Finals. Held at The O2 in London, the event will officially crown the 2019 ATP Tour No. 1. For more information, please visit www.ATPTour.com.

About Tennis Australia

Tennis Australia is the governing body of tennis in Australia, promoting and facilitating participation in tennis at all levels. TA also conducts national and international tournaments including the Australian Open. For more information please visit tennis.com.au.

DELIVERED IN PARTNERSHIP BY



