AT PTOUR

NEWS RELEASE

6 November 2021

HISTORY MADE AS DJOKOVIC SECURES RECORD-BREAKING SEVENTH YEAR-END NO. 1

PONTE VEDRA BEACH, FLORIDA – Novak Djokovic has made history again. The Serbian today secured the year-end No. 1 FedEx ATP Ranking for a record seventh time, eclipsing the mark he previously shared with American Pete Sampras.

By defeating Poland's Hubert Hurkacz in Saturday's Rolex Paris Masters semi-finals, Djokovic breaks a tie with Sampras, who completed six straight year-end No. 1 finishes between 1993-98. Djokovic has achieved the feat in seven of the past 11 seasons (also 2011-12, '14-15, '18 and '20).

"Just proud and extremely happy. Obviously that was one of the biggest goals and it's always one of the biggest goals, to try to be No. 1 and end the season as No. 1," Djokovic said. "To do it for the record seventh time and surpass my childhood idol and role model, Pete, is incredible. Very grateful, very blessed to be in this position."

Andrea Gaudenzi, ATP Chairman, said: "Finishing the season as No. 1 is a monumental achievement. To do it seven times, in this incredible era of men's professional tennis, is hard to describe. Novak deserves huge credit and recognition for continuing to redefine excellence in our sport, year after year. Congratulations to him and his team on this outstanding new milestone."

The 34-year-old, who extends his record as the oldest man to finish year-end No. 1, came within one victory of completing the Grand Slam in 2021. He went 27-1 at the four major championships with trophies at the Australian Open (d. Medvedev), Roland Garros (d. Tsitsipas) and Wimbledon (d. Berrettini). His bid to match the feat of Don Budge (1938) and Rod Laver (1962 and 1969) ended in the US Open final (l. to Medvedev).

It marks the 17th time in the past 18 seasons (barring Andy Murray in 2016) that the year-end No. 1 has been held by Djokovic, Rafael Nadal (five times: 2008, '10, '13, '17, '19) or Roger Federer (also five times: 2004-07, '09).

Djokovic eclipsed Federer's all-time mark of 310 weeks at No. 1 on 8 March and will finish 2021 having held the top ranking for 348 weeks (as of 22 November). The Serbian's fifth stint in the top spot began the week of 3 February 2020.

In addition to his three major titles, Djokovic also triumphed on home soil at the Belgrade Open in May. He became the first man since Laver to win each major twice at Roland Garros in June and earned a sixth Wimbledon title in July, drawing him level on a record 20 majors with Federer and Nadal. Djokovic's career trophy haul stands at 85 (fifth all-time).

PREMIER PARTNER

Emirates

PLATINUM PARTNER



AT PTOUR

NEWS RELEASE

Djokovic will attempt to secure a record-equalling sixth Nitto ATP Finals trophy at the Pala Alpitour in Turin from 14-21 November. He will be making his 14th appearance at the season finale, where he will officially receive the year-end ATP Tour No. 1 trophy presented by FedEx.

ATP TOUR YEAR-END NO. 1s

Year	Player
2021	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2020	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2019	Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2018	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2017	Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2016	Andy Murray (Great Britain)
2015	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2014	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2013	Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2012	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2011	Novak Djokovic (Serbia)
2010	Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2009	Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2008	Rafael Nadal (Spain)
2007	Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2006	Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2005	Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2004	Roger Federer (Switzerland)
2003	Andy Roddick (U.S.)
2002	Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)
2001	Lleyton Hewitt (Australia)
2000	Gustavo Kuerten (Brazil)
1999	Andre Agassi (U.S.)
1998	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1997	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1996	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1995	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1994	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1993	Pete Sampras (U.S.)
1992	Jim Courier (U.S.)
1991	Stefan Edberg (Sweden)
1990	Stefan Edberg (Sweden)
1989	Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic)

PREMIER PARTNER



PLATINUM PARTNER



AT PTOUR

NEWS RELEASE

1988 Mats Wilander (Sweden) 1987 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic) 1986 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic) 1985 Ivan Lendl (Czech Republic) 1984 John McEnroe (U.S.) 1983 John McEnroe (U.S.) 1982 John McEnroe (U.S.) 1981 John McEnroe (U.S.) 1980 Bjorn Borg (Sweden) 1979 Bjorn Borg (Sweden) 1978 Jimmy Connors (U.S.) 1977 Jimmy Connors (U.S.) 1976 Jimmy Connors (U.S.) 1975 Jimmy Connors (U.S.) 1974 Jimmy Connors (U.S.) 1973 Ilie Nastase (Romania)

###

Media contact:

Simon Higson (simon.higson@atptour.com)

About The ATP

As a global governing body of men's professional tennis, the ATP's mission is to serve tennis. We entertain a billion global fans, showcase the world's greatest players at the most prestigious tournaments, and inspire the next generation of fans and players. From the ATP Cup in Australia, to Europe, the Americas and Asia, the stars of the game battle for titles and FedEx ATP Rankings points at ATP Masters 1000, 500 and 250 events, and Grand Slams. All roads lead towards the Nitto ATP Finals, the prestigious season finale held in Turin, Italy. Featuring only the world's top 8 qualified singles players and doubles teams, the tournament also sees the official crowning of the year-end ATP World No. 1, the ultimate achievement in tennis. For more information, please visit www.ATPTour.com.

PREMIER PARTNER



PLATINUM PARTNER

