© Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships

Jurgen Melzer and Edouard Roger-Vasselin are aiming to lift their first team title at the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships.

Melzer/Roger-Vasselin Book Quarter-Final Spot In Dubai

Defending champions Ram/Salisbury through in straight sets

Jurgen Melzer and Edouard Roger-Vasselin recorded their fifth win of the year on Tuesday, beating Jamie Murray and Neal Skupski 6-1, 7-6(2) to reach the Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships quarter-finals.

The Austrian-French tandem broke serve on four occasions to claim victory in 76 minutes. Melzer and Roger-Vasselin are chasing their first title as a pair in their first season as a team. Prior to this year, Melzer and Roger-Vasselin had competed together at only two events.

Download ATP Tour App

The unseeded team will meet third seeds Kevin Krawietz and Andreas Mies or two-time winners Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau. Rojer and Tecau are the only team to win back-to-back titles in Dubai since the ATP 500 event began in 1993.

Defending champions Rajeev Ram and Joe Salisbury converted all four break points they created to defeat Novak Djokovic and Marin Cilic 6-2, 6-2 in 55 minutes. The American-British pairing will face John Peers and Michael Venus for a place in the semi-finals.

You May Also Like: Tsitsipas Keeps Momentum Rolling In Dubai

Raven Klaasen and Oliver Marach did not face a break point en route to a 7-6(4), 6-3 win against Karen Khachanov and Andrey Rublev. The fourth seeds await Marseille finalists Wesley Koolhof and Nikola Mektic in the quarter-finals. Koolhof and Mektic defeated wild cards Abdulrahman Al Janahi and Fares Al Janahi 6-0, 6-1.

Matthew Ebden and two-time winner Leander Paes upset second seeds Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek 6-4, 6-3. Ebden and Paes will face Henri Kontinen and Jan-Lennard Struff in the quarter-finals.

Watch Live

First-round doubles action at the Chile Dove Men+Care Open in Santiago saw Marcelo Demoliner and Matwe Middelkoop rally to defeat Hugo Dellien and Andre Goransson 5-7, 6-3, 10-8. awaiting them in the next round are Federico Delbonis and Guillermo Duran or Marcelo Tomas Barrios Vera and Alejandro Tabilo.

Third seeds Divij Sharan and Artem Sitak battled past Thiago Monteiro and Fernando Romboli 7-6(5), 7-6(2). Next up for them are Roberto Carballes Baena and Alejandro Davidovich Fokina, who defeated Gonzalo Lama and Thiago Seyboth Wild 6-4, 7-5.