© Getty Images

Ross Hutchins (left), ATP Chief Player Officer, and Gilles Muller (far right) present Aegon Championships organisers with the ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year award.

Aegon Championships Receives ATP World Tour 500 Tournament Of Year Award

ATP World Tour grass-court event receives recognition

Gilles Muller, on behalf of the players, presented Stephen Farrow, Tournament Director of the Aegon Championships, with the ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year Award at The Queen’s Club on Wednesday afternoon. The honour is part of the 2016 ATP World Tour Awards presented by Moët & Chandon. 

"It’s a huge privilege and pleasure to receive this award on behalf of everyone involved in the Aegon Championships," said Farrow. "We pride ourselves on being a player-friendly tournament, and we are delighted to have been recognised in this way by the players of the ATP World Tour."

The Aegon Championships has received a Tournament of the Year award for a fourth straight season. It won at the ATP World Tour 250 level in 2013 and 2014, before its re-categorisation as an ATP World Tour 500 event for 2015.

Ross Hutchins, ATP Chief Player Officer, also presented a jeroboam of Moët & Chandon champagne to The Queen’s Club’s groundsman Graham Kimpton and Tara McGregor-Woodhams, Head of Brand and Sponsorship Aegon UK at Aegon.

This year, the Aegon Championships expanded its Centre Court capacity by 30 per cent, with the addition of more than 2,000 seats.

Moet and Chandon off-court news