Nominees Revealed For 2016 ATP World Tour Awards Presented By Moët & Chandon

Federer, Murray, Nadal, Wawrinka nominated for Sportsmanship award

Welcome to the 2016 ATP World Tour Awards Presented by Moët & Chandon, where we recognise outstanding players and tournaments. View the nominees for the player-voted categories, as selected by ITWA, and cast your votes now for Fans' Favourite presented by Moët & Chandon.

You May Also Like: Vote For Your Favourite Players In 2016 ATP World Tour Awards Presented By Moët & Chandon

Roger Federer is up for his 12th Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award. The Swiss has won this award every year since 2004, with the exception of 2010, when the honours went to Rafael Nadal. The Spaniard once again joins Federer as nominees in this category, along with Andy Murray and Stan Wawrinka.

Austrian Dominic Thiem, who broke into the Top 10 this past June, and a pair of Top 20 debutants – 22-year-old Lucas Pouille and #NextGen’s Alexander Zverev – are among the candidates in the running for Most Improved Player of the Year. Great Britain’s Daniel Evans, 26, rounds out the nominees in this category after rising more than 130 spots in the Emirates ATP Rankings since the end of 2015 to a career-high No. 53. 

Juan Martin del Potro looks to become the third player after Tommy Haas (2004, 2012) and Sergi Bruguera (1997, 2000) to be named Comeback Player of the Year for a second time. The Argentine, who was selected by his peers as the 2011 winner following his return from wrist surgery, has been nominated in this category alongside Julien Benneteau, Ivo Karlovic and Florian Mayer.

Winners for the 2016 ATP World Tour Awards Presented by Moët & Chandon will be announced ahead of the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

Voted By Fans Fans' Favourite presented by Moët & Chandon (Singles, Doubles): The singles player and doubles team receiving the highest number of votes from fans from now through 7 November.

Determined By Emirates ATP Rankings

ATP World Tour No. 1 Presented by Emirates: The player who ends the year as World No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Rankings.

ATP World Tour No. 1 Doubles Team Presented by Emirates: The team that ends the year as World No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Doubles Team Rankings.

ATP Star Of Tomorrow Presented by Emirates: The youngest player in the Top 100 of the Emirates ATP Rankings as of 7 November 2016.

Voted By Players

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promot¬ed the game through his off-court activities.
Roger Federer
Andy Murray
Rafael Nadal
Stan Wawrinka

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who reached a significantly higher Emirates ATP Ranking by year’s end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.
Daniel Evans
Lucas Pouille
Dominic Thiem
Alexander Zverev

Comeback Player of the Year: The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP World Tour.
Julien Benneteau
Juan Martin del Potro
Ivo Karlovic
Florian Mayer

Tournaments of the Year: The tournament in its category that operated at the highest level of professionalism and integrity and which provided the best conditions and atmosphere for participating players.


ATP World Tour Masters 1000

ATP World Tour 500

ATP World Tour 250

Note: Tournament awards will be announced in 2017

Voted By Coaches

(New for 2016) ATP Coach of the Year: Voted on by fellow ATP coach members, this award goes to the ATP coach who helped guide his players to a higher level of performance during the year.
Gunter Bresnik (Dominic Thiem)
Ivan Lendl (Andy Murray)
Magnus Norman (Stan Wawrinka)
Emmanuel Planque (Lucas Pouille)
Mikael Tillstrom (Gael Monfils)

Chosen By ATP

Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award: The person who has made outstanding humanitarian contributions. Previous winners include James Blake, Roger Federer, Carlos Moya, former South African President Nelson Mandela and Arthur Ashe.

Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award: The journalist who has made significant contributions to the game of tennis.

More stories like this in: