2017: Nadal, Federer, Shapovalov Honoured

Kubot/Melo, Bryans, Tecau also receive Awards

The winners of the 2017 ATP World Tour Awards presented by Moët & Chandon were revealed Thursday night as the year’s best eight singles players and doubles teams gathered at the Tower of London for the 2017 Nitto ATP Finals Official Launch, presented by Moët & Chandon.

Rafael Nadal was recognised for his achievement of clinching the year-end No. 1 Emirates ATP Ranking for the fourth time in his career, while Lukasz Kubot/Marcelo Melo clinched the No. 1 Emirates ATP Doubles Team Ranking during the Nitto ATP Finals. Nadal and Kubot/Melo were presented their No. 1 trophies on court at The O2. 

Four other players competing at the Nitto ATP FinalsRoger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, and Horia Tecau – accepted their ATP World Tour Awards as part of the Official Launch festivities. #NextGenATP Canadian Denis Shapovalov, who was competing this week at the inaugural Next Gen ATP Finals in Milan, and South African Neville Godwin sent video messages acknowledging their honours. 

The 36-year-old Federer increased his record tally of ATP World Tour Awards to 36, adding three new trophies to his collection Thursday. He was selected by his peers as Comeback Player of the Year for the first time and as the recipient of the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for the 13th time. Federer, along with the Bryans, extended their reigns as the singles and doubles ATPWorldTour.com Fans’ Favourite presented by Moët & Chandon, winning the popular vote from fans for respectively a 15th and 13th straight year.

Eighteen-year-old Shapovalov also won multiple honours in the 2017 ATP World Tour Awards. He was voted by fellow players as the Most Improved Player of the Year, and will also be honoured as the ATP Star of Tomorrow presented by Emirates when he visits The O2 on Saturday, 18 November to collect his trophies in an on-court ceremony.

Tecau was named the recipient of the Arthur Ashe Humanitarian Award for his efforts in championing children’s rights and education in his home country of Romania, while Godwin won Coach of the Year after guiding countryman Kevin Anderson to his first Grand Slam final at the US Open earlier this year.

The ATP World Tour's best tournaments in their respective categories were also honoured, with the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells (Masters 1000), the Abierto Mexicano Telcel in Acapulco (500) and the Qatar ExxonMobil Open in Doha (250) announced as the Tournaments of the Year.

Meanwhile, Argentina’s Guillermo Salatino was named the first Latin American journalist to win the Ron Bookman Media Excellence Award.

More stories like this in: