© ATP Cup

ATP Cup 2020 Official Draw Proceedings Unveiled

ATP Cup Draw to take place Monday at Sydney Opera House

The Official Draw for the most exciting new event in world tennis, ATP Cup 2020, will take place at one of Australia’s most iconic landmarks, the Sydney Opera House on Monday 16 September.

The locations of where the global superstars of the sport will start their 2020 season and which countries will compete in Brisbane, Perth and Sydney will be revealed at the draw.

The ATP Cup will feature 24 countries going head-to-head to battle for the new world title as well as AUD $22 million in prize money and valuable ATP Ranking Points.

Three Australian former world No.1’s Ken Rosewall, John Newcombe and Pat Rafter, will take part in the Official Draw proceedings in Sydney.

They will be joined by Tennis Australia CEO Craig Tiley and Chief Operating Officer Tom Larner along with ATP Executive Vice President, Rules & Competition Gayle David Bradshaw and Chief Player Officer Ross Hutchins.

You May Also Like: Get To Know ATP Cup... Part I

Official Draw events are also taking place in both Brisbane and Perth to mark the occasion.

Australian tennis great John Fitzgerald and Tennis Australia Director of Professional Tennis Wally Masur will be in Queensland while former Australian players and commentators Sam Groth and Geoff Masters will take part in the Western Australia event.

The Official Draw will be broadcast to a global audience on the ATP Cup Facebook page from 10:40am AEST so fans can follow from around the world. The latest news and live updates will be posted on Twitter and Instagram.

The ATP Cup Draw TV Show will reveal the detailed schedule at 5:00pm AEST and a panel of tennis analysts will discuss the day’s events. Fans can tune in via ATP Cup social media.


  The current ATP Cup Standings (view), based on the ATP Ranking position of each country’s top-ranked singles player, is a provisional entry list and an indication of which countries and players are likely to compete
•  Participation is subject to players committing to the event by the tournament’s two entry deadlines of Friday 13 September for the first 18 teams, or Wednesday 13 November, for the remaining six teams
•  If not included in the top 18 at the first entry deadline, Australia will receive a host country wildcard. Australia currently sits at No.20 in the ATP Cup standings
•  To appear on the ATP Cup Standings a country must have at least two players with an ATP singles ranking and at least one other player with an ATP singles or ATP doubles ranking
•  A country may have up to five players. If a team has five players, at least three must have an ATP Singles ranking. If less than five players, a team must have at least two players with an ATP Singles ranking
•  The two highest-ranked singles players of the teams qualifying at the first entry deadline will be eligible to compete at the 2020 event, subject to their rankings remaining as the top two players from their country at the second deadline, at which point the full team will be determined
•  A player with a Protected Ranking (PR) is eligible to enter provided the PR is valid at the applicable entry deadline, as per ATP Cup rules
•  The Finals, to be played in Sydney, will feature eight teams: the six group winners and the two best-performing second-placed teams.


  On Monday 16 September, the top 18 teams will be divided into six groups, two groups will be assigned to each of the three host cities
•  The first six countries will be placed into six groups. Countries 7-12 will then be randomly drawn into each of the groups, followed by countries 13-18
•  If Australia is outside of the top 18 countries at the first entry deadline, they will receive a wildcard and be randomly allocated to one of the six groups as the 19th team
•  The remaining qualifying teams will be drawn and allocated after the second entry deadline.


  The tournament will be played at Brisbane's Pat Rafter Arena, Perth's RAC Arena and Sydney's Ken Rosewall Arena, where the venue is currently undergoing a redevelopment. Sydney has secured the finals of the tournament until 2022
•  Each tie comprises two best-of-three-sets singles matches and one doubles match played under the regular ATP Tour doubles format (including no-ad points and a match tie-break in lieu of a third set)
•  On-court coaching will be allowed
•  An undefeated singles player could earn up to 750 ATP Rankings points and an undefeated doubles player could earn up to 250 points.


  The ATP Cup schedule will be available on ATPCup.com at 5:00pm AEST on Monday 16 September.


  All tickets including hospitality, packages and single session tickets will go on sale for each host city on Wednesday 18 September. Adult tickets will start at $30 and children’s tickets at $5.

More stories like this in: