© ATP Tour

Djokovic, Nadal Lead Field For 2021 ATP Cup

Twelve countries will battle for the trophy in Melbourne

The field is set for the 2021 ATP Cup, to be held from 1-5 February in Melbourne. Twelve countries will battle for the prestigious team trophy, with 2020 finalists Serbia and Spain leading the way.

World No. 1 Novak Djokovic and World No. 2 Rafael Nadal headline the event as the top-ranked singles players for Serbia and Spain, respectively. In 2020, Serbia defeated Spain 2-1 in a thrilling championship clash, which included a tantalising match-up between Djokovic and Nadal.

Reigning Nitto ATP Finals champion Daniil Medvedev headlines Russia’s team alongside fellow Top 10 star Andrey Rublev, and World No. 3 Dominic Thiem will try to take Austria to glory. The 2021 ATP Cup will feature 14 of the Top 15 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings. Each team will consist of four players per country.

Qualification for the 2021 ATP Cup is based on the FedEx ATP Ranking of each country’s top-ranked singles player, while Australia qualifies by virtue of a host wild card. Alex de Minaur, who earned two Top 15 wins at last year’s inaugural ATP Cup, will once again lead the way for Australia.

ATP Cup Managing Director Ross Hutchins said: “Playing as a team, for one’s country, is a rare privilege in tennis which brings the best out of our players. This was highlighted by the incredible matches and camaraderie on display at last year’s inaugural ATP Cup. We would like to thank our partners, Tennis Australia, for their dedication and commitment to staging this year’s tournament, which promises to deliver a strong start to the new 2021 season. We cannot wait for tennis fans around the world to again share in the excitement and energy of this special event.”

ATP Cup Tournament Director Tom Larner said: “Last year we launched the global tennis season with the inaugural ATP Cup. It was a huge success with both players and fans, and we are excited to present the second edition in Melbourne in 2021. The players are looking forward to stepping up and representing their countries again, and the field, including defending champions Serbia and finalists Spain, is strong. This is a format that shows off the passion of the players and we’re expecting some spectacular tennis action.”

This year’s ATP Cup will take place at Melbourne Park alongside two ATP 250 events, with the three tournaments being held the week before the Australian Open. The draw will take place on 22 January, when the 12 teams will be divided into four groups of three for group stage, round-robin play. The four group winners will advance to the semi-finals.

More information on ATP Cup tickets will be released in due course.

Follow the latest ATP Cup news and live updates at ATPCup.com and on Twitter and Instagram.


 Novak Djokovic
 Dusan Lajovic
 Filip Krajinovic
 Nikola Cacic

Diego Schwartzman
 Guido Pella
 Horacio Zeballos
 Maximo Gonzalez  

 Rafael Nadal
 Roberto Bautista Agut
 Marcel Granollers
 Pablo Carreno Busta
 Matteo Berrettini
 Fabio Fognini
 Simone Bolelli
 Andrea Vavassori
 Dominic Thiem
 Dennis Novak
 Philipp Oswald
 Tristan-Samuel Weissborn

 Kei Nishikori
 Yoshihito Nishioka 
 Ben McLachlan
 Toshihide Matsui

 Daniil Medvedev
 Andrey Rublev
 Aslan Karatsev
 Evgeny Dosnkoy
 Gael Monfils
 Benoit Paire
 Nicolas Mahut
 Edouard Roger-Vasselin 

 Stefanos Tsitsipas
 Michail Pervolarakis
 Markos Kalovelonis
 Petros Tsitsipas

 Denis Shapovalov
 Milos Raonic
 Peter Polansky
 Steven Diez

 Alexander Zverev
 Jan-Lennard Struff
 Kevin Krawietz
 Andreas Mies

 Alex de Minaur
 John Millman
 John Peers
 Luke Saville  

Note: This story was updated 18 January to reflect the revision to the timing of the draw, which is now set for 22 January.

More stories like this in: