© Tennis Australia

Alex De Minaur will spearhead Australia's hopes at the 2022 ATP Cup.

ATP Cup Schedule Announced; Aussies Face Tough Opener

The event will be held from 1-9 January in Sydney

Editor's Note: This story was updated 26 December.

Home favourite Australia will face a tough start to its 2022 ATP Cup campaign when it confronts Italy’s dual Top 10 stars Matteo Berrettini and Jannik Sinner in its first match of the tournament Sunday evening.

James Duckworth will open the Sunday evening card on Ken Rosewall Arena against World No. 10 Sinner, while Alex De Minaur will look to overcome powerhouse World No. 7 Berrettini in the No. 1 singles, which follows.

On the opening day of the tournament, Top 10 stars Stefanos Tsitsipas and Hubert Hurkacz will do battle when Greece meets Poland in the night session on Qudos Bank Arena.

Full 2022 ATP Cup Schedule

 1 Jan Day  Chile vs Spain   Argentina vs Georgia
 1 Jan Night  Serbia vs Norway  Greece vs Poland 
 2 Jan Day  Russia vs Austria   Canada vs USA 
 2 Jan Night  Italy vs Australia   Germany vs Great Britain 
 3 Jan Day  Poland vs Georgia   Norway vs Spain 
 3 Jan Night  Greece vs Argentina   Serbia vs Chile 
 4 Jan Day  Germany vs USA   Italy vs Austria 
 4 Jan Night  Canada vs Great Britain   Russia vs Australia 
 5 Jan Day  Norway vs Chile   Poland vs Argentina
 5 Jan Night  Serbia vs Spain   Greece vs Georgia 
 6 Jan Day  Russia vs Italy  Great Britain vs USA
 6 Jan Night  Austria vs Australia   Germany vs Canada 

*KRA= Ken Rosewall Arena and QBA= Qudos Bank Arena

The winner of Group A will meet the winner of Group D in the first semi-final on the evening of 7 January for a spot in the championship match, with the winners of Group B and C playing during the day on 8 January. The final will be on the evening of 9 January, with all knockout stage matches taking place inside Ken Rosewall Arena.

Knockout Stage Schedule

   Match   KRA 
 7 Jan Night   SF   Winner Group A vs. Winner Group D 
 8 Jan Day   SF   Winner Group B vs. Winner Group C 
 9 Jan Night   Final   Winner SF 1 vs. Winner SF 2 

View List Of Committed Players

Group A

Serbia leads Group A, which also consists of Norway, Chile and Spain. On the evening of 5 January, Serbia will play Spain in a rematch of the 2020 ATP Cup final, which was also held inside Ken Rosewall Arena. Roberto Bautista Agut and Pablo Carreno Busta lead the way for an experienced Spanish side.

Group A

Group B

Russia is in a difficult group with home country Australia, Austria and Italy. Medvedev and company will face Italy in a tantalising rematch of the 2021 final on 6 January during the day inside Ken Rosewall Arena. Four of the Top 10 players in the FedEx ATP Rankings will compete in that match, with Medvedev leading the way against Berrettini.

Group B

Group C

The last match of group play inside Qudos Bank Arena on 6 January promises to be a good one between Group C teams Germany and Canada. Germany is led by two-time Nitto ATP Finals champion Alexander Zverev and Canada has two of the ATP Tour's brightest talents in Felix Auger-Aliassime and Denis Shapovalov, longtime friends.

Group C

Group D

Two 2021 Nitto ATP Finals competitors lead the way in Group D, with Stefanos Tsitsipas topping Greece's lineup and Hubert Hurkacz playing No. 1 singles for Poland. The two countries will face each other on the evening of 1 January inside Qudos Bank Arena.

Group D

More stories like this in: