ATP Masters 1000: Tournaments, Records, Stats

What you need to know about #ATPMasters1000

ATP Masters 1000, which debuted as a series in 1990, features the best men's tennis players at nine top tournaments on the ATP Tour calendar. Champions at Masters 1000 events earn 1,000 ATP Rankings points.

The 2019 BNP Paribas Open ushered in the 30th year of Masters 1000 tennis, with Dominic Thiem claiming his first title at the elite level. Roger Federer then captured the first Miami Open presented by Itau held at Hard Rock Stadium.

Fabio Fognini continued the recent trend of first-time ATP Masters 1000 champions by winning the Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters title to start off the Clay Masters. Novak Djokovic triumphed at the Mutua Madrid Open, briefly tying Rafael Nadal's mark of 33 Masters 1000 titles, but the Spaniard reclaimed sole ownership of the record with victory over the Serbian in the Internazionali BNL d'Italia final.

Tournament  City 2019 Dates Defending Champion
BNP Paribas Open Indian Wells 7-17 March Dominic Thiem
Miami Open presented by Itau Miami 20-31 March Roger Federer 
Rolex Monte-Carlo Masters Monte-Carlo 14-21 April Fabio Fognini
Mutua Madrid Open Madrid 5-12 May Novak Djokovic
Internazionali BNL d'Italia Rome 12-19 May Rafael Nadal
Coupe Rogers Montreal 5-11 August 2018: Rafael Nadal
Western & Southern Open Cincinnati 11-18 August 2018: Novak Djokovic 
Rolex Shanghai Masters Shanghai  6-13 October  2018: Novak Djokovic 
Rolex Paris Masters Paris  28 Oct - 3 Nov  2018: Karen Khachanov

MASTERS 1000 TITLE LEADERS... There have been 67 different champions crowned in 263 events since the Masters 1000 series began in 1990. Only six players have won more than 10 Masters 1000 titles. Rafael Nadal leads the way with 33.
 Player Titles
Rafael Nadal 34
Novak Djokovic 33
Roger Federer 28
Andre Agassi 17
Andy Murray 14
Pete Sampras 11

Roger Federer leads Masters 1000 win leaders, but Rafael Nadal now trails the Swiss by only match win following his triumph in Rome. Stan Wawrinka entered the Top 10 leaderboard after reaching the third round at the BNP Paribas Open earlier this year, overtaking Tommy Haas (144-107 match record).

Player W-L Titles
Roger Federer 378-106 28
Rafael Nadal  377-79 34 
Novak Djokovic 345-77  33
Andy Murray 212-81  14 
Andre Agassi  209-73  17
Tomas Berdych 191-117
Pete Sampras 190-70 11
David Ferrer 189-122
Andy Roddick  157-70  5
Stan Wawrinka  149-103  1

GREATEST CHAMPIONS (since 1990)... Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer, Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan dominate the titles leaderboard for the Masters 1000 tournaments.

City Singles Doubles
Indian Wells Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer (5) Mark Knowles, Daniel Nestor (4)
Miami Andre Agassi, Novak Djokovic (6) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6)
Monte-Carlo Rafael Nadal (11)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (6) 
Madrid Rafael Nadal (5) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Rome Rafael Nadal (9) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)
Canada Novak Djokovic, Rafael Nadal (4) Mahesh Bhupathi, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (5) 
Cincinnati  Roger Federer (7)  Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Shanghai  Novak Djokovic (4) Marcelo Melo (3)
Paris Novak Djokovic (4) Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan (4)

: Eight players have won their first Masters 1000 title over the past 19 series events:
Alexander Zverev (2017 Rome)
Grigor Dimitrov (2017 Cincinnati)
Jack Sock (2017 Paris)
Juan Martin del Potro (2018 Indian Wells)
John Isner (2018 Miami)
Karen Khachanov (2018 Paris)
Dominic Thiem (2019 Indian Wells)
Fabio Fognini (2019 Monte-Carlo)

You May Also Like: Fognini Continues First-Time Masters 1000 Champion Trend In Monte-Carlo

In the 78 ATP Masters 1000 events prior to 2017 Rome, six players won their first Masters 1000 title:
Jo-Wilfried Tsonga (2008 Paris)
Ivan Ljubicic (2010 Indian Wells)
Robin Soderling (2010 Paris)
David Ferrer (2012 Paris)
Stan Wawrinka (2014 Monte-Carlo)
Marin Cilic (2016 Cincinnati).

During the stretch from 2008 Madrid through 2017 Madrid, Novak Djokovic (26), Rafael Nadal (18), Andy Murray (13) and Roger Federer (12) combined to capture 69 of the 78 Masters 1000 titles (88.5%).

More stories like this in: