© Florian Eisele/Wimbledon.com

Members of the ATP Board and the 2016-18 ATP Player Council pose at the All England Club on Friday. Back Row (left to right): Roger Rasheed, Rajeev Ram, Marcelo Melo, Kevin Anderson, Alexander Inglot. Middle Row: Colin Dowdeswell, Justin Gimelstob, Jamie Murray, Novak Djokovic, Claudio Pistolesi. Front Row: Sergiy Stakhovsky, Gilles Simon, Bruno Soares.

New ATP Player Council Elected In London

The new Council will have its first meeting in New York prior to the US Open

The new ATP Player Council, as voted by players, was announced on Friday evening at the general player meeting at Wimbledon.

A number of existing members were re-elected for an additional two-year term on the Council, including Novak Djokovic, Kevin Anderson and Yen-Hsun Lu. Elsewhere, John Isner, Robin Haase and Sam Querrey return to the Council having served previous terms, Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares continue as doubles representatives for a second consecutive term and newcomers Vasek Pospisil and Stefano Travaglia serve their first term.

Members elected by their peers to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2020 are:

1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson, Robin Haase, John Isner, Sam Querrey

51-100 Singles: Yen-Hsun Lu, Vasek Pospisil

1-100 Doubles: Jamie Murray, Bruno Soares

At-Large: Novak Djokovic, Stefano Travaglia

Alumni: Colin Dowdeswell

Coach: Daniel Vallverdu

The new ATP Player Council will have its first meeting in New York prior to the US Open, where the President and Vice President will be elected.

Chris Kermode, ATP Executive Chairman & President, said: “Congratulations to all Council members who have been elected by their peers to represent the player group over the next two years. The Player Council has played a big role in achieving significant growth for the players in our sport, and I would like to thank all the existing and outgoing members for their hard work and dedication in recent years.”

The ATP Player Council meets several times a year and makes recommendations to ATP Management and the ATP Board of Directors through the three Player Board representatives, whom the Council elects. The current three Board representatives are Justin Gimelstob, Roger Rasheed and Alexander Inglot.

More stories like this in: