© ATP World Tour

The London 2017 class of ATP University brought the program to over 1,000 graduates.

ATP University Reaches 1,000 Graduates

Players learn about the inner workings of the ATP World Tour and tips to apply to their personal and professional careers

The end of the ATP World Tour season is rewarding for those who qualify for the Nitto ATP Finals. The top eight singles players and doubles tandems who earn the most points in the Emirates ATP Race To London guarantee their spot in the season finale at The O2. You can say they lead the tour class for the year.

But elsewhere in the same city, ATP University was just beginning. A group of 25 players graduated in this year’s London session across the river at the Marriott County Hall, bringing the total number of rising stars who have gone through the tutorial on life on the ATP World Tour to more than 1,000 graduates since the program’s inception.  

The weekend opened up with former World No. 2 and 1998 Nitto ATP Finals Champion Alex Corretja speaking to the group and offering advice based on his own journey. The players also listened and participated in presentations covering: Overview of the ATP, ATP Tournaments, Media Training, Nutrition, Player Relations, Social Media, Medical Services, ATP Communications, ATP Marketing, Rules and Officiating, Savings and Investments, Security, Communicated Threats, Anti-Corruption and Anti-Doping.

Outside of the classroom, the players enjoyed group dinners and a trip to the Nitto ATP Finals on Sunday to watch the doubles and singles finals.

At the end of the three days of sessions, the ATP IQ test was won by 23-year-old Canadian Filip Peliwo, who claimed the coveted GoPro prize, with Matt Reid finishing in second place and Stefano Napolitano in third place.

The London 2017 graduates included Peliwo, Reid, Napolitano, Felix Auger-Aliassime, Attila Balazs, Salvatore Caruso, Steven Diez, Mao-Xin Gong, Yannick Hanfmann, Roman Jebavy, Enrique Lopez-Perez, Dino Marcan, Maximilian Marterer, Nikola Mektic, Hugo Nys, Sebastian Ofner, Vaclav Safranek, Mohamed Safwat, Antonio Sancic, Brayden Schnur, Max Schnur, Denis Shapovalov, Andrei Vasilevski, Di Wu and Ze Zhang.

More stories like this in: