© ATP Tour

Alex de Minaur and Lleyton Hewitt fall to Ben McLachlan and Jan-Lennard Struff in straight sets at the Brisbane International on Monday.

McLachlan/Struff Pass De Minaur/Hewitt Test In Brisbane

Krajicek/Sitak earn team debut win

Ben McLachlan and Jan-Lennard Struff made a winning return to Australia on Monday, beating Alex de Minaur and Lleyton Hewitt 6-3, 6-1 at the Brisbane International.

The second seeds, who reached the Australian Open semi-finals on their team debut this year, converted five of six break points to overcome the Australian duo in 50 minutes. The Tokyo champions will meet John Millman and John-Patrick Smith or Marcelo Demoliner and Daniil Medvedev in the quarter-finals.

Watch Live

Austin Krajicek and Artem Sitak began their partnership with a 7-5, 7-6(4) victory over Taylor Fritz and Nick Kyrgios. The first-time pairing withstood 13 aces and saved all three break points they faced to edge past Fritz and Kyrgios after 77 minutes.

Australian duo James Duckworth and Jordan Thompson saved three set points in a marathon first set en route to a 7-6(12), 6-4 win over Kei Nishikori and Yoshihito Nishioka. Duckworth and Thompson dropped just five points behind their first serves (36/41) in the 88-minute clash. Marcus Daniell and Wesley Koolhof also advanced, beating Roman Jebavy and Andres Molteni 6-3, 5-7, 10-6.