© 2014 Getty Images

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan claimed their fourth Barclays ATP World Tour Finals title on Sunday.

Bryans’ 100th Title, Zimonjic’s 600th Win Lead Doubles Storylines In 2014

ATPWorldTour.com reviews the 2014 doubles season and its key storylines.

Bob and Mike Hit Century Mark
A highly compelling and entertaining season finale at The O2 in London capped what was a thrilling 2014 season on the ATP World Tour doubles circuit. Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan added to their growing milestone haul, clinching 10 or more tour-level titles in a single season for the fourth time (2007, ‘10, ‘13), when they won their fourth Barclays ATP World Tour Finals crown (2003-04, ‘09). They qualified for the season finale for a 13th consecutive year.

Perhaps their biggest accomplishment came on home soil in September, when they captured a historic 100th team title with their fifth US Open trophy. They would go on to earn their 900th match victory a month later in Shanghai, where they would also achieve the Career Golden Masters, becoming the first players to win all nine current ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments.

Along with their London, US Open and Shanghai crowns, the duo picked up seven other titles this season, at ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournaments in Indian Wells, Miami, Monte Carlo, Cincinnati and Paris; and in Delray Beach and Houston. They clinched the year-end No. 1 Emirates ATP Doubles Team Ranking for a record 10th time and for the sixth consecutive season.

On a lighter note, Bob and Mike also demonstrated their exceptional communication skills in winning ATPWorldTour.com's doubles description game.

Zimonjic Joins 600-Wins Club
Novak Djokovic wasn’t the only Serb to register match win No. 600 in 2014. In May, Nenad Zimonjic achieved Zimonjicthe milestone in doubles en route to the Mutua Madrid Open title, alongside Daniel Nestor. The 38 year old is the 19th player to reach the milestone and seventh among active men, joining the Bryans, Nestor, Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi and Max Mirnyi.

Nestor and Zimonjic finished second in the Emirates ATP Doubles Team Rankings, with the Belgrade native also collecting his 50th title at the Apia Sydney International and adding trophies at the Swiss Indoors Basel and the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 events in Madrid and Rome.

Historic Season For Rojer/Tecau
Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau did not allow three defeats in their first four matches as a duo to deter them from reaching the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals this year. The Dutch-Romanian tandem compiled a dominant 2014 campaign, becoming just the third team to win eight tour-level titles in a single season since 2001. The Bryans have hoisted eight or more trophies on five occasions, while Nestor and Zimonjic won nine titles in ‘09.

Rojer and Tecau surged to the fifth seed at the season finale behind late-season crowns on the hard courts of ShenzhenShenzhen, Beijing and Valencia. They also triumphed in Zagreb and Washington, on the clay of Casablanca and Bucharest, as well as on the grass of ‘s-Hertogenbosch.

First-Time Success
There were 15 first-time doubles champions on the ATP World Tour in 2014, including singles World No. 16 Kevin Anderson in Acapulco (w/Ebden). Vasek Pospisil tasted victory for the first time in dramatic fashion when he and Jack Sock stunned Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan 7–6(5), 6–7(3), 6–4, 3–6, 7–5 for the Wimbledon title. It was their first tournament together.

Colombian power Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah claimed their maiden titles in Rio de Janeiro, en route to reaching seven finals this year. Meanwhile, Jesse Huta Galung and Stephane Robert became the first lucky losers to win on the ATP World Tour, at the Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell, and Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Michal Przysiezny followed suit at the Valencia Open 500.

More Tidbits

•    For the second straight year, the singles champion in Newport enjoyed double the success, as Lleyton Hewitt won his first doubles crown since the 2000 US Open (w/Mirnyi), teaming with countryman Chris Guccione.

•    Alexander Peya and Bruno Soares became the first duo to retain the Rogers Cup title in more than 35 years, winning their 10th team crown at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 event in Toronto.

•    There were four different Grand Slam champions for the second time in six years, with Lukasz Kubot and Robert Lindstedt joining the Bryans and Pospisil/Sock, prevailing at the Australian Open. Also, Edouard Roger-Vasselin and Julien Benneteau emerged victorious at Roland Garros.

•    Guccione and Sam Groth won the longest Match Tie-break of the season, defeating Adil Shamasdin and Divij Sharan 19-17 in the Bogota semi-finals.