Top Argentines Schwartzman, Pella Top Buenos Aires Field; All You Need To Know

Draw, schedule, tickets & more about the 2020 Argentina Open

Diego Schwartzman and Guido Pella lead the charge at one of their home country tournaments, the Argentina Open in Buenos Aires. Argentines claimed this title four times in five years, in 2004-05 and 2007-08, but have not won the title again since then. Schwartzman came close to ending the title drought last year, upsetting two-time champion Dominic Thiem in the semi-finals before losing to Marco Cecchinato. Pella also fell victim to Cecchinato in 2019, in the semi-finals.

Contested on clay at the Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis Club, known as the "Cathedral of Argentinean tennis", the ATP 250 tournament will also feature Cecchinato, Croatian Borna Coric, 2019 Rio Open presented by Claro champion Laslo Djere and Cristian Garin, who won two clay-court titles last season in Houston and Munich. 

You May Also Like: Diego Schwartzman: Why Height Doesn't Define Me

Here's all you need to know about Buenos Aires tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who has won and more. 

Established: 2001

Tournament Dates: 10-16 February 2020

Tournament Director: Martin Jaite

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 8 February at 3pm on-site

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Saturday at 11am, Sunday at 11:30am
* Main draw: Monday - Friday at 2:30pm and 7pm, Saturday at 12pm
* Doubles final: Sunday, 16 February at 1pm
* Singles final: Sunday, 16 February not before 3pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV 
TV Schedule

Venue: Buenos Aires Lawn Tennis
Main Court Seating: 4,800

Prize Money: US $611,420 (Total Financial Commitment: US $696,280) 

Tickets On Sale: Buy Now 

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: David Ferrer (3)
Most Titles, Doubles: Sebastian Prieto (3)
Oldest Champion: David Ferrer, 31, in 2014
Youngest Champion: Guillermo Coria, 22, in 2004
Highest-Ranked Champion: No. 2 Gustavo Kuerten in 2001
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 90 Nicolas Massu in 2002
Most Match Wins: Nicolas Almagro (29) 

2019 Finals
Singles: [3] Marco Cecchinato (ITA) d [4] Diego Schwartzman (ARG) 61 62   Read & Watch
Doubles: [1] Maximo Gonzalez (ARG) / Horacio Zeballos (ARG) d Diego Schwartzman (ARG) / Dominic Thiem (AUT) 61 61  Read More 

Hashtag: #ArgOpen2020
Facebook: @ArgentinaOpen
Twitter: @ArgentinaOpen
Instagram: @argentinaopenatp

Did You Know... From Carlos Moya's triumph in 2003 to Rafael Nadal's in 2015, Spaniards and Argentines (David Nalbandian, Juan Monaco, Gaston Gaudio, Guillermo Coria) shared 13 straight titles in Buenos Aires.

More stories like this in: