Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah are one match away from their first Grand Slam title.

Cabal/Farah Make History With Wimbledon Final

Second seeds to play Mahut/Roger-Vasselin in championship match

Second seeds Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah moved into their first Wimbledon final on Thursday, defeating third seeds and 2018 finalists Raven Klaasen and Michael Venus 6-4, 6-7(4), 7-6(2), 6-4.

Cabal/Farah were ruthless in their return games, racking up 15 break points and converting on three, while their opponents had just one break opportunity. The second seeds comfortably served out the match on the first try to advance in three hours and four minutes. Cabal/Farah improve to 3-2 in their FedEx ATP Head2Head series with Klassen/Venus and have won the rivalry's past three matches.

They are the first Colombian team ever to reach a final at The All England Club. Both players seek their first Grand Slam men’s doubles title. They finished runner-up at the 2018 Australian Open (l. Marach/Pavic), while Cabal (w/Schwank) was also a finalist at 2011 Roland Garros (l. Mirnyi/Nestor).

Cabal/Farah have been outstanding on all surfaces in 2019. They took the title two weeks ago at the Nature Valley International (d. Gonzalez/Zeballos), prevailed on clay at the Internazionali BNL d’Italia (d. Klaasen/Venus) and Barcelona Open Banc Sabadell (d. Murray/Soares), and finished runner-up on hard courts at the Sydney International (l. Murray/Soares).

You May Also Like: Murray Optimistic About Future Despite Mixed Doubles Loss

Awaiting them in the championship match are No. 11 seeds Nicolas Mahut and Edouard Roger-Vasselin, who took out Ivan Dodig and Filip Polasek 6-2, 7-6(7), 7-6(2). The French duo saved a set point at 5-6 in the second set and another at 5/6 in the second-set tie-break before going on to prevail in two hours and 28 minutes.

Mahut won the Australian Open this year with Pierre-Hugues Herbert (d. Kontinen/Peers) to complete the career Grand Slam as a team. Herbert/Mahut previously prevailed two years ago at 2016 Wimbledon (d. Benneteau/Roger-Vasselin). Roger-Vasselin’s lone Grand Slam title came with Julien Benneteau at 2014 Roland Garros (d. Granollers/Lopez).