Djokovic, Federer In Same Group At Barclays ATP World Tour Finals

Murray and Wawrinka lead Group Ilie Nastase

World No. 1 and defending champion Novak Djokovic has been drawn in the same group as six-time winner Roger Federer at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals.

Djokovic, who is hoping to clinch a fifth title at the season finale next week, leads Group Stan Smith alongside Federer, Tomas Berdych and Kei Nishikori.

The 28-year-old Serb comes into the season finale on a 22-match winning streak, taking in four straight titles at the US Open, Beijing, Shanghai and Paris. Djokovic is a four-time winner of the Final Showdown, lifting the trophy in 2008 in Shanghai, before three successive victories in London from 2012-14.

“These groups were going to be tough regardless of who was going to be in the group,” said Federer. “But I’m excited to be back and can’t wait for it to start.” 

World No. 2 Andy Murray, competing at the elite tournament for the seventh time, has been drawn in Group Ilie Nastase alongside Stan Wawrinka, Rafael Nadal and David Ferrer.

Murray is bidding to win the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals for the first time, having reached the semi-finals three times previously. The Dunblane native is looking to finish in the Top 2 in the Emirates ATP Rankings for the first time in his career and currently holds a 1,130-point lead over Federer.

Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan, champions in 2003-04, '09 and '13, headline the doubles field. They will play two-time Grand Slam finalists Jamie Murray and John Peers, Australian Open champions Simone Bolelli and Fabio Fognini and Indian/Romanian duo Rohan Bopanna and Florin Mergea in Group Ashe/Smith.

Wimbledon champions Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau, who are vying to clinch the year-end No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Doubles Team Rankings, have been drawn to play Roland Garros winners Ivan Dodig and Marcelo Melo, US Open champions Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut and Polish/Serbian duo Marcin Matkowski and Nenad Zimonjic in Group Fleming/McEnroe.

Four doubles team are mathematically in contention to become the year-end No. 1 team, including the Bryans, Rojer and Tecau, Dodig and Melo and Murray and Peers.

The Barclays ATP World Tour Finals will be held at The O2 in London from 15-22 November. This year the singles and doubles groups have been named after former champions of the year-end championships, including Smith - winner at Tokyo in 1970, four-time titlist Nastase. Arthur Ashe and Smith won the first doubles crown, 45 years ago, while Peter Fleming and John McEnroe lifted eight straight titles.

CENTRE start 12:00 noon

[4] J. Murray (GBR) / J. Peers (AUS) vs [5] S. Bolelli (ITA) / F. Fognini (ITA)

Not Before 2:00 pm
[1] N. Djokovic (SRB) vs [8] K. Nishikori (JPN)

Starting at 6:00 pm
[1] B. Bryan (USA) / M. Bryan (USA) vs [8] R. Bopanna (IND) / F. Mergea (ROU)

Not Before 8:00 pm
[3] R. Federer (SUI) vs [6] T. Berdych (CZE)

CENTRE start 12:00 noon

[2] J. Rojer (NED) / H. Tecau (ROU) vs [7] M. Matkowski (POL) / N. Zimonjic (SRB)

Not Before 2:00 pm
[2] A. Murray (GBR) vs [7] D. Ferrer (ESP)

Starting at 6:00 pm
[3] I. Dodig (CRO) / M. Melo (BRA) vs [6] P. Herbert (FRA) / N. Mahut (FRA)

Not Before 8:00 pm
[4] S. Wawrinka (SUI) vs [5] R. Nadal (ESP)

More stories like this in: