© SAEED KHAN/AFP via Getty Images

Novak Djokovic will go for a record-extending eighth Australian Open title next month.

Nadal, Djokovic, Federer, Del Potro Set For 2020 Australian Open

Del Potro set to make return in Melbourne

The world’s top players will return to Melbourne Park in January, led Spain’s Rafael Nadal and Serbian Novak Djokovic, who will be going for a record-extending eighth Australian Open title.

The top two seeds will be joined by [3] Roger Federer (SUI), [4] Dominic Thiem (AUT), [5] Daniil Medvedev (RUS), [6] Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE), [7] Alexander Zverev (GER), [8] Matteo Berrettini (ITA), [9] Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP) and [10] Gael Monfils (FRA), rounding out an enthralling mixture of new generation contenders and experienced Grand Slam champions in the Top 10.

Juan Martin del Potro (ARG) returns on a protected ranking of No. 22, following a six-month injury break. Del Potro last competed in June at the Fever-Tree Championships at The Queen's Club in London, where he fractured his right patella for the second time in nine months.

A total of 104 players receive direct entry into the men’s and women’s singles main draw and a further eight are awarded wild cards, while 16 places will be settled at the qualifying rounds from 8-11 January 2020.

You May Also Like: Hewitt, Gaudio, Dimitrov Join Former Greats To Captain ATP Cup Teams

We are delighted to welcome this extremely strong player field to Melbourne in what promises to be a once in a generation event,” said tournament director Craig Tiley. “The very best players are back, there are records up for grabs and it is very possible we will see a new champion crowned on both sides.

There are so many great storylines for AO 2020... Will it be the year for one of the young guns to stop Novak, Roger or Rafa?”

In the past decade, and with the exception of Swiss Stan Wawrinka in 2014, the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup has been won by Djokovic in 2019, 2016, 2015, 2013, 2012, 2011 and Roger Federer in 2018, 2017, 2010 while Nadal won his first – and only – AO crown in 2009.

No. 71 Yen-Hsun Lu (TPE), [73] Vasek Pospisil (CAN), [83] Mackenzie McDonald (USA) and [95] Cedrik-Marcel Salvatore Caruso (ITA) join Del Potro in the draw with protected rankings.

World No. 18 Alex de Minaur leads the Australian men’s contingent with (30) Nick Kyrgios, (48) John Millman, (63) Jordan Thompson and (97) Alexei Popyrin all confirmed for the main draw.

Now in its 115th year, the Australian Open will take place from 20 January to 7 February 2020.