© Scott Barbour/Getty Images

Novak Djokovic will go for a record-breaking seventh Australian Open title this month.

Djokovic, Nadal, Federer Lead Australian Open Seeds

The season's first Grand Slam gets underway on Monday

Let the anticipation hit high gear. The seeds for the 2019 Australian Open, which starts Monday, have been announced, and the top is littered with names that have dominated the season's first Grand Slam for the past decade plus.

Six-time champion Novak Djokovic, No. 1 in the ATP Rankings, is the top seed in Melbourne. The Serbian, who fell in the semi-finals of the Qatar ExxonMobil Open last week (l. to Bautista Agut), will be going for a record-breaking seventh Australian Open crown. Djokovic is currently tied with Roger Federer for the Open Era mark.

Read More: Djokovic: 'That's What You Get For Losing Focus

The 31-year-old Djokovic is also trying to win his third consecutive Grand Slam, after winning Slams Nos. 13 and 14 at Wimbledon and the US Open, respectively.

Second seed Rafael Nadal will be contesting his first tour-level match of the season when he takes to the courts in Melbourne Park. Nadal had to withdraw from the Brisbane International last week because of left thigh strain.

The Spaniard has not played a tour-level match since 7 September, more than four months ago, when he had to retire from his US Open semi-final against Juan Martin del Potro. But the 17-time Grand Slam champion has captured one Australian Open title (2009) and reached three other finals (2012, 2014, 2017).

He has a chance at No. 1 during the Aussie fortnight. Nadal will regain the top spot in the ATP Rankings on 28 January if he wins the title and Djokovic does not reach the fourth round.

You May Also Like: Federer: 'He Didn't Want Me To Be A Wasted Talent'

Federer, the third seed, also will be vying for a three-peat and a record-breaking seventh Australian Open crown. The 37-year-old has not won back-to-back-to-back titles at the same Grand Slam since the 2006-08 US Open.

Federer could match Djokovic's Open Era record by winning his third consecutive Australian Open crown. Djokovic, Nadal and Federer have combined for 13 of the past 15 Australian Open titles and eight consecutive Grand Slam championships. The draw for the 2019 Australian Open will take place from 6 p.m. Thursday, local time.

1. Novak Djokovic (SRB)
2. Rafael Nadal (ESP)
3. Roger Federer (SUI)
4. Alexander Zverev (GER)
5. Kevin Anderson (RSA)
6. Marin Cilic (CRO)
7. Dominic Thiem (AUT)
8. Kei Nishikori (JPN)
9. John Isner (USA)
10. Karen Khachanov (RUS)
11. Borna Coric (CRO)
12. Fabio Fognini (ITA)
13. Kyle Edmund (GBR)
14. Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
15. Daniil Medvedev (RUS)
16. Milos Raonic (CAN)
17. Marco Cecchinato (ITA)
18. Diego Schwartzman (ARG)
19. Nikoloz Basilashvili (GEO)
20. Grigor Dimitrov (BUL)
21. David Goffin (BEL)
22. Roberto Bautista Agut (ESP)
23. Pablo Carreno Busta (ESP)
24. Hyeon Chung (KOR)
25. Denis Shapovalov (CAN)
26. Fernando Verdasco (ESP)
27. Alex de Minaur (AUS)
28. Lucas Pouille (FRA)
29. Gilles Simon (FRA)
30. Gael Monfils (FRA)
31. Steve Johnson (USA)
32. Philipp Kohlschreiber (GER)