Djokovic Receives Year-End No. 1 Trophy

World No. 1 honoured on Sunday in London

Novak Djokovic kicked off his title defence at the Barclays ATP World Tour Finals in dominant fashion, racing through a 6-1, 6-1 victory over Kei Nishikori. Following the match, the Serb was honoured as year-end ATP World Tour No. 1 presented by Emirates  for the fourth time in five years. Chris Kermode, ATP Executive Chairman and President, presented Djokovic with the trophy in an on-court ceremony.

"Undoubtedly it has been the best season, the best year, of my life," said Djokovic. "I have been experiencing the most of my abilities in my tennis game. Everything has come together over the years and I've been very consistent with my results. 2011 and 2015 definitely stand out and I look back with great pride and joy. My team definitely play a big part in this. They help me each and every day to get better as a player and a person. Of course my wife and my son Stefan, my parents and brothers and the closest people in my life sacrifice a lot and I try to cherish every moment. This is the crown for all the achievements in the season."

The 28 year old has become the sixth player to clinch the year-end No. 1 Emirates ATP Ranking on four or more occasions, following in the footsteps of Pete Sampras (six years), Jimmy Connors and Roger Federer (five years), Ivan Lendl and John McEnroe (four years). Djokovic, who began his third stint at World No. 1 on 7 July 2014, has been No. 1 in the Emirates ATP Rankings for 172 weeks. Only Federer (302), Sampras (286), Lendl (270) and Connors (268) have spent more weeks at No. 1 since 1973.

In 2015, Djokovic reached all four Grand Slams finals (3-1 record), eight ATP World Tour Masters 1000 tournament finals, winning titles in Indian Wells, Miami, Monte-Carlo, Rome, Shanghai and Paris. He also lifted the Beijing trophy among 14 finals. With a 79-5 match record, it is the sixth time in eight years he has reached at least 70 wins in a season. Bidding to claim his fourth straight Barclays ATP World Tour Finals title, he's now won 15 consecutive matches at the season finale.