© Getty Images

Novak Djokovic fue elegido Presidente del Consejo De Jugadores ATP antes del inicio del US Open.

Djokovic Elected As President Of ATP Player Council

Djokovic to lead player respresentatives

The new ATP Player Council elected World No. 1 Novak Djokovic as President and Kevin Anderson as Vice President last week, ahead of the start of the US Open.

“First of all, it’s an honour to be elected to be part of the Council,” said Djokovic on Monday, after his first-round victory over Jerzy Janowicz. “I gladly accepted it, because it's a calling. It's a responsibility.

“Of course, I'll do my best to contribute to the evolution of this sport for the time being. The first Council meeting was very long, but productive. I was elected the President. Kevin Anderson is Vice President.

“On the Council we are all even. We are all equal. It was interesting to really sit there and hear and talk about, discuss, debate about different subjects that are ongoing right now. New ideas [and] new prospects.

“We are all in the same ship basically: the Council people, the [ATP] Board people, and, at the end of the day, tournaments as well… We are all part of the same governing body. We're all part of the same organisation. We're all on the same mission to make this sport better.”

Djokovic had previously been a member of the ATP Player Council in 2008-10.

Members elected by their peers to serve on the ATP Player Council through June 2018 are:

* 1-50 Singles: Kevin Anderson, Novak Djokovic, Andy Murray, Gilles Simon
* 51-100 Singles: Yen-Hsun Lu, Rajeev Ram
* 1-100 Doubles: Jamie Murray, Bruno Soares
* At-Large: Marcelo Melo, Sergiy Stakhovsky
* Alumni: Colin Dowdeswell
* Coach: Claudio Pistolesi

More stories like this in: