© JB Autissier / Panoramic

Nicolas Mahut and Pierre-Hugues Herbert defeat Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara in the Montpellier final on Sunday.

Herbert/Mahut Save 1 M.P., Clinch Montpellier Crown

Frenchmen win 21st tour-level title as a team

Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut tasted success on the ATP Tour once again on Sunday, edging Lloyd Glasspool and Harri Heliovaara 4-6, 7-6(3), 12-10 to win the Open Sud de France title.

In a hard-fought battle, the top seeds rallied back from the brink, saving one match point at 9/10 in the Match Tie-break, before holding their nerve to seal victory after one hour and 49 minutes in Montpellier.

You May Also Like: Qualifier Tabilo Stuns Schwartzman To Reach First ATP Tour Final In Cordoba

The Frenchmen, teaming for the first time this season, have now won 21 tour-level titles together. Following their victory, Herbert and Mahut have triumphed on French soil four times. The pair has won two Roland Garros trophies as a team and ATP Masters 1000 crowns in Monte Carlo (2016) and Paris (2019).

In a tight match, the top seeds returned with great depth and closed the net effectively throughout to put pressure on Glasspool and Heliovaara and broke once in their first ATP Head2Head meeting.

Glasspool and Helivoaara were aiming to win their second tour-level title as a team, after lifting the trophy in Marseille last season. The British-Finn tandem did not drop a set en route to the final at the ATP 250 event.