© Charlie Crowhurst/Getty Images

Rain delays play at the Viking International Eastbourne ATP 250 Tour event.

Rain Cancels Play At Eastbourne On Monday

Frenchman Tsonga and seventh seed Ramos-Vinolas were scheduled to be in action

First-round matches at the Viking International Eastbourne have been cancelled on Monday due to rain. Play was scheduled to get underway at 11:00 a.m. local time on centre court with a clash between former World No. 5 Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Egor Gerasimov, which will now take place on Tuesday.  

Seventh-seeded Spaniard Albert Ramos-Vinolas, who won the title at the Estoril Open (d. Norrie) in May, was set to face Emil Ruusuvuori on Court One in his second grass-court match of the season.


CENTRE COURT start 10:30 am

ATP - J. Tsonga (FRA) vs E. Gerasimov (BLR)

Not Before 11:30 AM
WTA - [Q] C. Giorgi (ITA) vs [5] K. Pliskova (CZE)
WTA - [WC] H. Watson (GBR) vs [4] I. Swiatek (POL)

Not Before 2:00 pm
ATP - F. Tiafoe (USA) vs [WC] L. Broady (GBR)

Not Before 3:30 PM
WTA - [1] A. Sabalenka (BLR) vs [Q] B. Pera (USA)
WTA - [DA SR] B. Mattek-Sands (USA) / S. Mirza (IND) vs G. Dabrowski (CAN) / V. Zvonareva (RUS)

COURT 1 start 10:30 am
WTA - P. Badosa (ESP) vs [2] E. Svitolina (UKR)

Not Before 11:30 am
ATP - J. Millman (AUS) vs [WC] J. Clarke (GBR)
ATP - [6] A. Davidovich Fokina (ESP) vs [Q] M. Ymer (SWE)

Not Before 2:00 PM
WTA - [7] E. Mertens (BEL) vs C. Gauff (USA)
WTA - P. Martic (CRO) vs [6] B. Bencic (SUI)
WTA - [WC] H. Dart (GBR) / H. Watson (GBR) vs C. Gauff (USA) / J. Ostapenko (LAT)

COURT 2 start 10:30 am
WTA - [WC] H. Dart (GBR) vs E. Rybakina (KAZ)
WTA - [8] A. Pavlyuchenkova (RUS) vs [WC] J. Ostapenko (LAT)
ATP - E. Ruusuvuori (FIN) vs [7] A. Ramos-Vinolas (ESP)
ATP - [WC] J. Ward (GBR) vs V. Pospisil (CAN)
ATP - [4] F. Martin (FRA) / E. Roger-Vasselin (FRA) vs L. Bambridge (GBR) / J. Murray (GBR)
ATP - K. Skupski (GBR) / N. Skupski (GBR) vs H. Nys (MON) / J. O'Mara (GBR)

COURT 6 start 10:30 am
ATP - [LL] A. Gray (GBR) vs [Q] I. Ivashka (BLR)
ATP - [LL] M. Purcell (AUS) vs [Q] J. Duckworth (AUS)
ATP - M. Fucsovics (HUN) vs A. Bedene (SLO)
after rest - ATP - M. Purcell (AUS) / L. Saville (AUS) vs [WC] L. Glasspool (GBR) / H. Heliovaara (FIN)
ATP - [1] N. Mektic (CRO) / M. Pavic (CRO) vs A. Behar (URU) / G. Escobar (ECU)
ATP - F. Nielsen (DEN) / F. Skugor (CRO) vs [3] R. Ram (USA) / J. Salisbury (GBR)

COURT 12 start 10:30 am
ATP - [LL] N. Gombos (SVK) vs A. Popyrin (AUS)
ATP - [Q] M. Kukushkin (KAZ) vs [8] A. Bublik (KAZ)
ATP - [LL] A. Seppi (ITA) vs Y. Nishioka (JPN)
ATP - R. Bopanna (IND) / D. Sharan (IND) vs [WC] A. Gray (GBR) / L. Johnson (GBR)
ATP - A. Bublik (KAZ) / N. Monroe (USA) vs J. Peers (AUS) / J. Smith (AUS)
ATP - R. Klaasen (RSA) / B. McLachlan (JPN) vs [2] J. Cabal (COL) / R. Farah (COL)

You May Also Like: Scouting Report: Daniil & Novak Playing In Mallorca, Gael Leads Eastbourne Field

Australian pair James Duckworth, who came through qualifying, and Max Purcell were also scheduled to be in action in what would have been the first ATP Head2Head meeting between them.

On Tuesday, eighth seed Alejandro Davidovich Fokina will play Mikael Ymer, while Andreas Seppi is due to face World. No 57 Yoshihito Nishioka. Australian John Millman and British wild card Jay Clarke will also meet.

More stories like this in: