© Intrum Stockholm Open/Gustaf Adolfsson

#NextGenATP Greek Stefanos Tsitsipas owns a 39-25 tour-level record this season.

13 & Counting, 2018's First-Time Titlists' List Continues To Grow

Nine of 13 first-time winners this year aged 25 or under

Two days ago, Stefanos Tsitsipas and Kyle Edmund both reached a milestone moment in their careers by clinching their first ATP World Tour titles at the Intrum Stockholm Open and European Open, respectively. Not only did those two victories provide fans with a glimpse into the future, they added to the hefty list of first-time tournament winners this season.

No season since 2004, when Rafael Nadal won his maiden trophy in Sopot, has seen this many first-time champions. Tsitsipas and Edmund's triumphs lifted this year's total to 13, with three regular season events still to be contested in Basel, Vienna and Paris. Overall, players attempting to capture their first trophy own a 13-18 record in championship matches this year.

2018 First-Time ATP World Tour Champions

Player Age Tournament City
1) Daniil Medvedev 21 Sydney
2) Roberto Carballes Baena 24 Quito
3) Mirza Basic 26 Sofia
4) Frances Tiafoe 20 Delray Beach
5) Marco Cecchinato 25 Budapest
6) Taro Daniel 25 Istanbul
7) Marton Fucsovics 26 Geneva
8) Mischa Zverev 30 Eastbourne
9) Matteo Berrettini 22 Gstaad
10) Nikoloz Basilashvili 26 Hamburg
11) Yoshihito Nishioka 23 Shenzhen
12) Stefanos Tsitsipas 20 Stockholm
13) Kyle Edmund 23 Antwerp

This year also marks the first time since 2006 that nine first-time champions were aged 25 or under. #NextGenATP stars Frances Tiafoe and Stefanos Tsitsipas are the youngest maiden titlists this year, with each triumphing at the age of 20. Both men have already qualified for the Next Gen ATP Finals in Milan, to be held from 6-10 November.

2004 First-Time ATP World Tour Champions

Player Age Tournament City
1) Antony Dupuis 30 Milan
2) Joachim Johansson 21 Memphis
3) Vincent Spadea 29 Scottsdale
4) Fernando Verdasco 20 Valencia
5) Filippo Volandri 22 St. Poelten
6) Santiago Ventura 24 Casablanca
7) Michael Llodra 24 's-Hertogenbosch
8) Rafael Nadal 18 Sopot
9) Ricardo Mello 23 Delray Beach
10) Tomas Berdych 19 Palermo
11) Robin Soderling 20 Lyon
12) Jerome Haehnel 24 Metz
13) Feliciano Lopez 23 Vienna