Indian Wells, Acapulco & Doha Named 2017 Tournaments Of The Year

Events honoured in 2017 ATP World Tour Awards presented by Moët and Chandon

The BNP Paribas Open, Abierto Mexicano Telcel and Qatar ExxonMobil Open have been named Tournament of the Year in their respective tournament categories in the 2017 ATP World Tour Awards presented by Moët and Chandon. The winners were announced at the Nitto ATP Finals Official Launch, presented by Moët & Chandon, at the Tower of London, and the tournaments will be honoured with their trophies in 2018.

The Tournament of the Year awards, voted annually by ATP players, recognise the leading standards set across events on the ATP World Tour. Indian Wells wins at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 level for a fourth straight year, while Acapulco and Doha claim honours for a second time each, respectively in the 500 and 250 categories.

The BNP Paribas Open extends its reign as ATP World Tour Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year after first receiving the distinction in 2014. Prior to the 2017 tournament, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden underwent extensive renovations designed to enhance the overall fan experience, including substantial upgrades to Stadium 1 – ranging from a massive expansion of the Stadium Plaza to renovating all the suites and hospitality spaces to adding 21 new restaurants and concessions.

“As both a player and now as Tournament Director, I can understand why this event has been named Tournament of the Year for the fourth straight year,” said Tommy Haas. “I have an incredible amount of respect for the countless hours of planning and dedication that the entire staff contributes to make the BNP Paribas Open one of the best sporting events in the world, and this award re-affirms that our actions are being appreciated by the players. We remain focused on improving the event every year and hope to make the 2018 edition even more memorable for fans, players, media and sponsors.”

Ten years after first receiving this award, the Abierto Mexicano Telcel has once again been named the ATP World Tour 500 Tournament of the Year. The event, held at the Acapulco Princess Mundo Imperial, switched to blue hard courts in 2014 after 20 years on clay. The 25th edition, to be held 26 February to 3 March, has already sold out tickets for all sessions.

“It is an honour for Grupo Pegaso to receive this recognition from the players of the ATP World Tour,” said Renata Burillo, President of Grupo Pegaso. “It is the best way to start our 25th anniversary celebrations. We thank the players, all the fans, the media and sponsors that made this possible. We will work hard to keep improving in the years to come. 

The Qatar ExxonMobil Open reclaims the Tournament of the Year award in the 250 category after sharing the honour two years ago. Held in the opening week of the ATP World Tour season with Exxon Mobil as title sponsor since its 1993 inception, the 2017 edition set new attendance records under the continued guidance of Tournament Director Karim Alami, a former player.

“On behalf of the Qatar Tennis Federation and all the team involved in the planning and delivery of the event, I want to express our delight at being selected once again as the ATP 250 Tournament of the Year,” said Alami. “Our goal is to consistently deliver an event that meets the highest organisational standards while providing players and their support teams, officials, guests, and spectators with warm conditions and attention to detail that make them feel at home during their time in Doha at our event. None of this would be possible without the endless support from our Title Sponsor, ExxonMobil, the Qatar Tennis Federation Board of Directors and the State of Qatar institutions and organisations.”

Visit ATP World Tour Awards Section

More stories like this in: