© Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

ATP Executive Chairman & President Chris Kermode presents BNP Paribas Open Tournament Director Tommy Haas with the ATP Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year trophy in the 2018 ATP Awards.

BNP Paribas Open Honoured For Fifth Straight Year In ATP Awards

Indian Wells tennis tournament continues reign in Masters 1000 category

The BNP Paribas Open has been voted as the ATP Masters 1000 Tournament of the Year for five straight seasons, and on Friday afternoon, celebrated its distinction in the 2018 ATP Awards with fans at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden.

ATP Executive Chairman and President Chris Kermode presented Tournament Director Tommy Haas with the trophy ahead of the first-round match between Steve Johnson and Taylor Fritz on Stadium 1.

“We are honoured and humbled that for the fifth straight year, our event has been recognised by the players as Tournament of the Year,” said Haas. “Our entire staff works incredibly hard to deliver a world-class experience.”

You May Also Like: Djokovic, Federer, Nadal, Tsitsipas Among Winners In 2018 ATP World Tour Awards Presented By Moët & Chandon

In 2018, the BNP Paribas Open unveiled a brand-new “Full Bloom” marketing campaign that highlighted the world-class venue and players set amidst the stunning natural beauty and backdrop of the desert landscape. In parallel, the Indian Wells Tennis Garden underwent a beautification project to further amplify the feeling of Tennis Paradise. Inside Stadium 1, video walls were replaced and upgraded to complement the action on court. BNP Paribas extended its title sponsorship of the tournament through 2023.

The tournament awards, voted annually by ATP players, recognise the leading standards set across events on the ATP Tour. The Fever-Tree Championships and Intrum Stockholm Open have been named Tournament of the Year respectively in the 500 and 250 categories and will receive their trophies later this season.

More stories like this in: