© Matt Campbell/Getty Images

Pete Sampras and Andre Agassi's on-court battles see the pair nominated in the Most Epic Rivalry category.

Hall of Fame Launches Iconic Moments in Tennis Vote

Fans invited to choose their most significant on-court moments

The International Tennis Hall of Fame is giving tennis fans around the world the opportunity to revisit, debate and weigh in on some of the sport’s most impactful moments during the Iconic Moments in Tennis History vote. As part of the campaign, voters in the United States will have the opportunity to enter to win a trip for two to the ITHF’s Enshrinement Weekend, to be held July 15-17 in Newport, R.I.

Voting is open through 30 April, giving fans the opportunity to make selections in five intriguing categories: Most Epic Rivalry, Best Cinderella Story, Best Comeback Within a Match, Most Iconic Celebration, and Best Moment of National Pride. The categories and corresponding nominees were decided upon by a panelists of tennis experts, journalists and historians, including Hall of Famer Steve Flink, ITHF Historian-at-Large Joel Drucker and ITHF Emerging Leaders Council representative Nina Pantic.

Spanning seven decades of tennis history, the lineup of eight nominees in each category include some of tennis’ most memorable moments and significant feats. Voters will be able to relive their favorite moments from Hall of Famers and other legends of the sport while comparing those accomplishments to recent achievements.

The wide-reaching categories weigh lasting memories, such as Billie Jean King’s racquet toss celebration after her victory over Bobby Riggs in the Battle of the Sexes, against trendsetting themes, like the Champion’s Climb at Wimbledon. Fans will be able to choose between some of the sport’s most unexpected victories, like Michael Chang’s French Open title and Emma Raducanu’s US Open triumph, and determine which on-court matchups, including record-breakers like the Big Three and the Williams sisters, changed the game forever.

Winning nominees from the Iconic Moments in Tennis History vote will be recognized with a unique exhibit for visitors to experience in person at the ITHF Museum and online at tennisfame.com.

When voting, fans based in the United States can opt in to enter the 2022 Enshrinement Weekend sweepstakes. The winners will join the celebrations for inductee Lleyton Hewitt of Australia, with exclusive access to in-person events over three days. Hewitt, a Wimbledon champion, US Open champion, and the youngest man to ever achieve the world No.1 ranking, will receive tennis’ ultimate honor, induction into the ITHF, on Saturday, July 16.

The winners will join tennis’ biggest fans, supporters, and legends for once-in-a-lifetime experiences during the weekend, including the Opening Tribute Dinner at The Elms mansion on Friday, Saturday’s Induction Ceremony and following cocktail reception, and the semi-finals and finals of the Infosys Hall of Fame Open on Saturday and Sunday. Included in the sweepstakes are two nights’ lodging in the heart of Newport.

Fans can view the nominees, vote and opt-in for the sweepstakes at tennisfame.com/vote, and are encouraged to cast ballots on Twitter by engaging with the ITHF at @tennishallofame.


Most Epic Rivalry
Jimmy Connors vs. John McEnroe vs. Bjorn Borg
Rafael Nadal vs. Roger Federer vs. Novak Djokovic
Chris Evert vs. Martina Navratilova
Steff Graf vs. Monica Seles
Pete Sampras vs. Andre Agassi
Billie Jean King vs. Margaret Court
Rod Laver vs. Ken Rosewall
Venus Williams vs. Serena Williams

Best Cinderella Story
Goran Ivanisevic, 2001 Wimbledon
Emma Raducanu, 2021 US Open
Kim Clijsters, 2009 US Open
Mats Wilander, 1982 Roland Garros
Gustavo Kuerten, 1997 Roland Garros
Pete Sampras, 1990 US Open
Serena Williams, 1999 US Open
Michael Chang, 1989 Roland Garros

Best Comeback Within a Match
Rafael Nadal d. Daniil Medvedev, 2022 Australian Open Final
Jennifer Capriati d. Martina Hingis, 2002 Australian Open Final
Mary Joe Fernandez d. Gabriela Sabatini, 1993 Roland Garros Quarter-Final
Manuel Orantes d. Guillermo Vilas, 1975 US Open Semi-Final
Chanda Rubin d. Jana Novotna, 1995 Roland Garros Third Round
Jimmy Connors d. Mikael Pernfors, 1987 Wimbledon Fourth Round
Richard Pancho Gonzales d. Charlie Pasarell, 1969 Wimbledon First Round
Pete Sampras d. Jim Courier, 1995 Australian Open Quarter-Finals

Most Iconic Celebration
Pat Cash’s Champion’s Climb, 1987 Wimbledon
Kim Clijsters and daughter Jada on court, 2009 US Open
Gustavo Kuerten drawing a heart in clay, 2001 Roland Garros
Jimmy Connors’ fist pump vs. Aaron Krickstein, 1991 US Open
Jim Courier diving into the Yarra River, 1992 & 1993 Australian Open
Petr Korda and Korda Family’s scissor kick
Serbian Davis Cup team shaving heads following 2010 championship
Billie Jean King’s racquet toss following Battle of the Sexes

Best Moment of National Pride
Ashleigh Barty, 2022 Australian Open
Goran Ivanisevic, 2001 Wimbledon
Althea Gibson, 1957 Wimbledon
Andy Murray, 2013 Wimbledon
Virginia Wade, 1977 Wimbledon
Li Na, 2011 Roland Garros
Maria Bueno, 1959 Wimbledon
David Hall, 2000 Sydney Paralympics

Ukraine crisis relief