Mutua Madrid Open: When Is The Draw & More

All about the ATP Masters 1000 tennis tournament in Madrid

The Mutua Madrid Open, held at Caja Magica, is the second of three ATP Masters 1000 tournaments played on clay. Rafael Nadal, who made his tournament debut in 2003, has won a record five titles from eight Madrid finals.

Nadal will look to reclaim the Madrid trophy in 2019, and faces a field that includes a trio of former titlists - World No. 1 Novak Djokovic, defending champion Alexander Zverev, Roger Federer - as well as Dominic Thiem. Nadal lost to Thiem in the 2018 Madrid quarter-finals and last week in the Barcelona semi-finals.

Federer, a three-time champion in Madrid, is making his return to the European clay-clay swing for the first time since 2016. The 37-year-old Swiss is playing his first tournament since winning the Masters 1000 title at the Miami Open presented by Itau, and enters Madrid two victories shy of his 1200th match win. 

Here's all you need to know about Madrid tennis tournament: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more. 

You May Also Like: Federer Confirms Clay Return In Madrid

Established: 2002

Tournament Dates: 5-12 May 2019

Tournament Director: Feliciano Lopez

Read: Lopez's New Journey

Draw Ceremony: Saturday, 4 May at 11:30am

Are You In? Subscribe To Get Tournament Updates In Your Inbox

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: starts Saturday at 11:00am
* Main draw: starts Sunday at 11:00am, Monday - Friday at 12:00pm and 8:00pm, Saturday at 1:30pm
* Doubles final: Sunday, 12 May at 3:30pm
* Singles final: Sunday, 12 May not before 6:30pm

How To Watch
Watch Live On Tennis TV  |  View TV Schedule

Watch Live

Venue: Caja Mágica
Main Court Seating: 12,500

Prize Money: € 6,536,160 (Total Financial Commitment: € 7,279,270)  

Tickets On SaleBuy Now 

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Rafael Nadal (5)
Most Titles, Doubles:
Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, Daniel Nestor (5)
Oldest Champion: Andre Agassi, 32, in 2002
Youngest Champion: Rafael Nadal, 19, in 2005
Lowest-Ranked Champion: No. 25 David Nalbandian in 2007
Most Match Wins:
Rafael Nadal (49)

2018 Finals
Singles: [2] Alexander Zverev (GER) d [5] Dominic Thiem (AUT) 64 64   Read & Watch
Doubles: Nikola Mektic (CRO) / Alexander Peya (AUT) d [2] Bob Bryan (USA) / Mike Bryan (USA) 53 ret. (B. Bryan - right hip)  Read & Watch

A Look Back: 2018 Madrid

Hashtag: #MMOPEN
Facebook: @mutuamadridopen
Twitter: @MutuaMadridOpen
Instagram: @mutuamadridopen

Did You Know...  From 2002-08, the Mutua Madrid Open was contested on indoor hard courts in the lead to the season finale, the Tennis Masters Cup. In 2009, the Madrid tournament transitioned to clay and became part of the European spring swing. Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and Andy Murray won the Madrid title on both surfaces. 

Editor's Note (May 3): The draw ceremony was moved from Friday evening to Saturday morning. 

More stories like this in: