© Banque Eric Sturdza Geneva Open/A.Tommassetti

Mate Pavic and Oliver Marach lift their sixth tour-level doubles trophy as a team on Saturday at the Banque Eric Sturdza Geneva Open.

Pavic/Marach Make Geneva History

Top seeds own 8-0 record in Geneva

Oliver Marach and Mate Pavic became the first team to win back-to-back Banque Eric Sturdza Geneva Open doubles titles on Saturday, defeating Matthew Ebden and Robert Lindstedt 6-4, 6-4.

The top seeds extended their unbeaten record in Geneva to 8-0 after 74 minutes, lifting their first tour-level trophy since triumphing at this event last year (d. Dodig/Ram). Marach and Pavic, who began their partnership at the 2017 Miami Open presented by Itau, now own six trophies from 14 tour-level championship matches together.

"Thanks to Mate for a great week, again. We love Geneva, obviously we have an 8-0 [record here]. We won last year and this year, so [we are] very happy to come back," said Marach. "I personally love Geneva. I lived here for two years. It is a great tournament. It has one of the nicest centre courts of all the tournaments I have played."

Watch Live

The 2018 Australian Open champions were appearing in their first ATP Tour final of the season, improving on semi-final runs in Auckland, Indian Wells and Rome. Marach and Pavic have now won 20 of their 32 tour-level matches this year.

"We love to come back here in Geneva," said Pavic. "Two years in a row, winning, feels great and I hope we can come back next year."

Marach now owns 22 doubles trophies and has earned a tour-level crown in 11 of the past 13 seasons. After lifting his 14th tour-level trophy, Pavic has now won a title in each of the past five years.

Ebden and Lindstedt were aiming to lift their maiden trophy in their first ATP Tour final as a team. Lindstedt was bidding to win a tour-level title for the 13th straight season, while Ebden was seeking his first doubles crown since capturing the Acapulco trophy in 2014 alongside Kevin Anderson.

Marach and Pavic gain 250 ATP Doubles Ranking points and split €29,650 in prize money. Ebden and Lindstedt earn 150 points and share €15,200.