© Matthew Stockman/Getty Images

Feliciano Lopez (volleying) and Marc Lopez overcome sixth seeds Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau on Monday in Indian Wells.

Lopez/Lopez Reach Indian Wells QFs; Doubles Seeds Fall

Murray/Soares and Rojer/Tecau beaten in second round

Feliciano Lopez and Marc Lopez knocked out sixth seeds Jean-Julien Rojer and Horia Tecau 6-4, 7-6(5) in one hour and 41 minutes on Monday at the BNP Paribas Open. At 5-6 in the second set, Lopez and Lopez saved three match points in recovering from 15/40 before edging a tight tie-break. Rojer, who has 349 match wins, and Tecau won the recent Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships title (d. Cerretani/Paes).

The Spaniards will now face Oliver Marach and Mate Pavic, who recorded their 20th match win of the season. The third seeds defeated Fabio Fognini and Aisam-Ul-Haq Qureshi 7-5, 6-2 in 75 minutes. From 5-5 in the first set, the duo won five of the next six games.

The Austrian-Croatian team has already picked up trophies this year at the Qatar ExxonMobil Open (d. Murray/Soares), the ASB Classic (d. Mirnyi/Oswald) and at the Australian Open (d. Cabal/Farah). The pair also finished runners up at the ABN Amro World Tennis Tournament (l. to Herbert/Mahut).

Watch Live

 Watch Full Match Replays

Gilles Muller and Sam Querrey lost seven of their first-service points to beat fourth seeds Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares 7-5, 6-7(4), 10-2 in one hour and 51 minutes. Muller and Querrey could not convert two match points at 6-5 in the second set and now await the winners of fifth seeds and 2016 champions Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas Mahut, and Pablo Cuevas and Horacio Zeballos.

Eighth seeds Ivan Dodig and Rajeev Ram swept past Raven Klaasen and Michael Venus 6-2, 6-2 in 60 minutes. They will now play John Isner and Jack Sock in the quarter-finals. The Americans advanced after David Ferrer, partnering fellow Spaniard, Roberto Bautista Agut, withdrew due to a illness.

Elsewhere, Marcus Daniell and Diego Schwartzman lost just five of their first-service points to defeat French team Adrian Mannarino and Fabrice Martin 6-4, 6-2 in 62 minutes. They will next challenge seventh seeds and 2013-14 champions Bob Bryan and Mike Bryan or Spaniards Pablo Carreno Busta and David Marrero.

Watch Live