© ATP World Tour

Murray/Soares Qualify For 2017 Nitto ATP Finals

Fourth team to qualify for season-ending championships

Jamie Murray and Bruno Soares will return to The O2 for a second straight year, qualifying for the 2017 Nitto ATP Finals following their quarter-final win Friday at the Shanghai Rolex Masters. The British/Brazilian duo joins Lukasz Kubot/Marcelo Melo, defending champions Henri Kontinen/John Peers and 2015 winners Jean-Julien Rojer/Horia Tecau in the 2017 field.

Murray and Soares enjoyed a memorable team debut at last year’s season-ending tournament, when they won all three of their round robin matches to become just the third first-year pairing to clinch the year-end No. 1 Emirates ATP Doubles Team Ranking. They received their trophy on centre court following their semi-final match (l. to Klaasen/Ram).

You May Also Like: Murray/Soares Receive 2016 Year-End No 1 Doubles Trophy

The duo has lifted three titles from six finals this year, highlighted by the ATP World Tour 500 crowns at the Aegon Championships in London and at the Abierto Mexicano Telcel in Acapulco. They also won the MercedesCup title in Stuttgart and were finalists at the Western & Southern Open in Cincinnati, Rakuten Japan Open Tennis Championships in Tokyo and Sydney International. Soares, 35, celebrated a milestone on Thursday in Shanghai, recording his 400th doubles match win.

Soares will be making his fourth appearance at The O2, previously qualifying in 2013 and ‘14 with Austria’s Alexander Peya. Murray, 31, made his tournament debut in 2015 alongside Peers.