© Getty Images/ATP Tour

Groups & Sunday/Monday Schedule Announced For 2019 Nitto ATP Finals

Nadal, Djokovic set for year-end No. 1 battle

The singles draw for the 2019 Nitto ATP Finals, to be held at The O2 in London from 10-17 November, was made on Tuesday and broadcast on the ATP Tour Facebook page. Defending champion Alexander Zverev, who is making his third consecutive appearance at the season finale, took part in the draw.

Buy Tickets Now

Singles – Group Andre Agassi
[1] Rafael Nadal (ESP)
[4] Daniil Medvedev (RUS)
[6] Stefanos Tsitsipas (GRE)
[7] Alexander Zverev (GER)

Singles – Group Bjorn Borg
[2] Novak Djokovic (SRB)
[3] Roger Federer (SUI)
[5] Dominic Thiem (AUT)
[8] Matteo Berrettini (ITA)

Rafael Nadal, who will be bidding to clinch year-end No. 1 in the ATP Rankings for a fifth time, leads Group Andre Agassi alongside Daniil Medvedev (2-0 in FedEx ATP Head2Head), Stefanos Tsitsipas (4-1) and 2018 titlist Zverev (5-0). Nadal has a 51-6 match record on the season and has qualified for the season finale for a record 15th consecutive year. He finished runner-up in 2010 and 2012.

Djokovic, a five-time year-end No. 1 who is currently 640 points behind Nadal in the battle to finish year-end No. 1, leads Group Bjorn Borg alongside Roger Federer (26-22 in FedEx ATP Head2Head), Dominic Thiem (6-3) and Matteo Berrettini. Djokovic, who has a 53-9 match record in 2019, has qualified for the season finale for the 13th time (2007-16, 2018-19), highlighted by five title runs in 2008 (d. Davydenko), 2012 (d. Federer), 2013 (d. Nadal) and 2014-15 (d. Federer both times).

Federer, a six-time former champion at the prestigious event, has compiled a 51-8 match record in 2019, including four titles. The Swiss will play Djokovic for the 49th time in their legendary rivalry in Group Bjorn Borg round-robin play.

You May Also Like: 12 Years On, Rafa, Novak, Roger Remain Top Trio; All About The Nitto ATP Finals

Eight different countries are represented in the elite eight-man singles field for the fourth consecutive year, with Group Bjorn Borg matches beginning on Sunday, 10 November. Group Andre Agassi matches are scheduled to begin on Monday, 11 November. Four played aged 23 and under will compete at The O2 in London. Andre Agassi won the 1990 season finale, when the event was held in Frankfurt, while Bjorn Borg won the 1979 and 1980 titles at Madison Square Garden in New York City.

Roberto Bautista Agut and Gael Monfils, the 2016 qualifier, are first and second alternates respectively in the singles field.


CENTRE COURT start 12:00 noon
[4] R. Ram (USA) / J. Salisbury (GBR) vs [5] R. Klaasen (RSA) / M. Venus (NZL) 

Not Before 2:00 pm
[2] N. Djokovic (SRB) vs [8] M. Berrettini (ITA) 

Not Before 6:00 pm
[2] L. Kubot (POL) / M. Melo (BRA) vs [8] I. Dodig (CRO) / F. Polasek (SVK) 

Not Before 8:00 pm
[3] R. Federer (SUI) vs [5] D. Thiem (AUT) 



CENTRE COURT start 12:00 noon
[3] K. Krawietz (GER) / A. Mies (GER) vs [6] J. Rojer (NED) / H. Tecau (ROU) 

Not Before 2:00 pm

[4] D. Medvedev (RUS) vs [6] S. Tsitsipas (GRE) 

Not Before 6:00 pm
[1] J. Cabal (COL) / R. Farah (COL) vs [7] P. Herbert (FRA) / N. Mahut (FRA) 

Not Before 8:00 pm
[1] R. Nadal (ESP) vs [7] A. Zverev (GER) 

doubles groups 2019

Doubles – Group Max Mirnyi
[1] Juan Sebastian Cabal (COL) / Robert Farah (COL)
[3] Kevin Krawietz (GER) / Andreas Mies (GER)
[6] Jean-Julien Rojer (NED) / Horia Tecau (ROU)
[7] Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA)

Doubles – Group Jonas Bjorkman
[2] Lukasz Kubot (POL) / Marcelo Melo (BRA)
[4] Rajeev Ram (USA) / Joe Salisbury (GBR)
[5] Raven Klaasen (RSA) / Michael Venus (NZL)
[8] Ivan Dodig (CRO) / Filip Polasek (SVK)

Juan Sebastian Cabal and Robert Farah, who have already clinched the year-end No. 1 ATP Doubles Team Ranking and have a 5-2 record in tour-level finals in 2019, lead Group Max Mirnyi, which begins on 11 November. Lukasz Kubot and Marcelo Melo, the second seeds, headline Group Jonas Bjorkman that starts on 10 November.

Henri Kontinen and John Peers, winners of the Nitto ATP Finals titles in 2016 and 2017, will serve as first doubles alternates at the season finale. Jeremy Chardy and Fabrice Martin are the second doubles alternates.

Max Mirnyi and Jonas Bjorkman won the 2006 season finale doubles title in Shanghai. Additionally, Mirnyi lifted the 2011 trophy with Daniel Nestor at The O2 in London, while Bjorkman partnered fellow Swede Jan Apell to the 1994 crown in Jakarta.