© Tata Open

Divij Sharan and Rohan Bopanna defeat Luke Bambridge and Jonny O'Mara in straight sets at the Tata Open Maharashtra on Saturday.

Indian Success: Sharan/Bopanna Claim Title On Team Debut In Pune

Top seeds triumph in straight sets

Two years after competing on opposite sides of the net in the championship match, Rohan Bopanna and Divij Sharan capped their team debut week with a title at the Tata Open Maharashtra on Saturday.

The home favourites, who battled through two marathon Match Tie-breaks to reach the final, overcame Luke Bambridge and Jonny O'Mara 6-3, 6-4 to lift the trophy in Pune. Bopanna and Sharan won 72 per cent of service points (38/53) and converted three of four break points to earn victory in 63 minutes.

Now a two-time champion at the event, Bopanna improves to 17-9 at his home tournament after lifting his 18th tour-level trophy. Bopanna also triumphed in 2017 alongside Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan, beating Sharan and Purav Raja in the final.

"Playing at home gave us a big advantage, there is a lot of crowd support," said Bopanna. "That makes a difference, for sure."

Watch Live

Sharan has now won four trophies from five tour-level doubles finals. The 32-year-old's last crown came at the 2017 European Open (w/Lipsky).

"It is obviously great [to win the title]," said Sharan. "It is my first ATP Tour title in India... this gives us a lot of confidence going into the season."

Bambridge and O'Mara were bidding to extend their 2-0 unbeaten record in championship matches at tour-level. The British duo, which also lifted its maiden tour-level title in its team debut week, captured trophies in Eastbourne and Stockholm last year.

Bopanna and Sharan receive 250 ATP Doubles Ranking points and split $29,860 in prize money for claiming the title. Bambridge and O'Mara gain 150 points and share $15,300.

Did You Know?
Bopanna and Sharan overcame Leander Paes and Miguel Angel Reyes-Varela 17-15 in a Match Tie-break to reach the semi-finals, before edging Simone Bolelli and Ivan Dodig 15-13 to advance to the championship match.