© AFP/Getty Images

Andy Roddick defeats Andreas Seppi to win the 2012 Eastbourne trophy.

Andy Roddick's 180-Degree Turnaround In Eastbourne

The former World No. 1 earned a title for the 12th consecutive season when he triumphed at 2012 Eastbourne

Andy Roddick arrived at the 2012 Nature Valley International on a career-high six-match losing streak, with four of those defeats coming in straight sets. Trying to regain his match rhythm, the 29-year-old decided to play the ATP 250 event in Eastbourne.

That proved wise, as the American won his first ATP Tour title in 16 months.

“It's great. I went from a six‑match losing streak to all of a sudden winning a tournament,” Roddick said. “It's a 180‑degree turnaround.”

Roddick snapped his losing streak against countryman Sam Querrey, who retired during the first set of their match. The former World No. 1 then defeated Jeremy Chardy, Fabio Fognini and Steve Darcis to reach the final, where he played defending champion Andreas Seppi.

“I broke him in the first game and I said, ‘Wow, incredible, I broke Roddick straight away on grass,’” Seppi told ATPTour.com. “I was like, ‘It’s going to be a huge final [for me]'... After that break in the first game I got broken immediately and after that it was just difficult.”

ATP Coach Programme

Roddick defeated Seppi 6-3, 6-2 to lift his 31st tour-level trophy. That marked the 12th consecutive season in which the American won a title. Roddick is one of only nine players to capture at least one crown in 12 straight years. The only other American to accomplish the feat was Jimmy Connors, who captured at least one trophy in 13 consecutive seasons from 1972-1984. 

Six Americans have earned at least one crown in 10 consecutive seasons: Connors (13), Roddick (12), Pete Sampras (11), Michael Chang (11), Brian Gottfried (11) and Andre Agassi (10).

Most Consecutive Seasons With At Least One Title

 Player  # Of Consecutive Seasons
 Rafael Nadal (2004-20)  17
 Novak Djokovic (2006-20)  15
 Roger Federer (2001-15)  15
 Ivan Lendl (1980-93)  14
 Jimmy Connors (1972-84)  13
 Andy Murray (2006-17)  12
 Andy Roddick (2001-12)  12
 Boris Becker (1985-96)  12
 Stefan Edberg (1984-95)  12

The Eastbourne championship also marked Roddick’s 600th tour-level match win.

“When you do something [only so many] people have done in the history of the game, it's two things: It makes you call into the fact that you are probably older than you want to be at this point, and secondly, it's a lot of wins,” Roddick said. “It's a lot of matches. It's a humbling thing.”

Despite arriving on a losing skid, Roddick found some vintage form, earning 16 service breaks in less than 10 sets.

“I felt like I returned really well this week. It turns quickly,” Roddick said. “I always say that to people ‑ I'm not sure how much they believe me ‑ but you're never playing as badly as you think, and you're probably never playing as good as you think, too.”

Roddick won his final ATP Tour title one month later in Atlanta. At the 2012 US Open, he announced his retirement. Roddick finished his career with a 612-213 record and 32 tour-level trophies.

- Statistical assistance provided by Joshua Rey.