Roland Garros: What You Need To Know

All about the clay-court Grand Slam tennis tournament

Roland Garros will feature a quartet of winners – Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic, Roger Federer and Stan Wawrinka – in the field for the first time in four years. 

Nadal, whose 33rd birthday falls during the second week of the clay-court major, will be looking to win Roland Garros a record-extending 12th time in 2019. Last year in Paris, Nadal became the first man in tennis history to win 11 titles at the same Grand Slam championship.

Read Draw Preview

Meanwhile, Djokovic will be attempting to achieve the 'Nole Slam' for the second time in his career. He previously held all four major titles three years ago, completing his set by winning Roland Garros. (Read: Djokovic Outlasts Murray For Historic Crown)

Federer, who clinched the career Grand Slam here a decade ago, makes his return for the first time since a quarter-final run in 2015, when he fell to countryman Wawrinka. The Swiss went on to win Roland Garros with victory over Djokovic in the final. 

Here's all you need to know about Roland Garros: when is the draw, what is the schedule, where to watch, who won and more. 

More On Nadal's 11th Title
* Q&A: 'I'm An Ordinary Guy Achieving Extraordinary Things'
* Rafa Rolls To 'La Undecima'
* How Rafa Triumphed In The Final
* Social Media Reacts To Nadal's 11th Title

Established: 1891

Tournament Dates: 26 May - 9 June 2019

Tournament Director: Guy Forget

Draw Ceremony: Thursday, 23 May at 7:00pm at “l’Orangerie” in the Botanic Garden - WATCH LIVE

Are You In? Subscribe Now!

Schedule (View On Official Website)
* Qualifying: Monday, 20 May - Friday, 24 May
* Main draw: Daily play begins at 11:00am from Sunday, 26 May
* Mixed doubles final: Thursday, 6 June
* Doubles final: Sunday, 8 June
* Singles final: Sunday, 9 June at 3:00pm

How To Watch
View TV Schedule

Venue: Stade Roland Garros
Main Court Seating: 15,116

Prize Money: €20,060,000   

Tickets On Sale: Buy Now

View Who Is Playing, Past Champions, Seeds, Points & Prize Money Breakdown

Honour Roll (Open Era)
Most Titles, Singles: Rafael Nadal (11)
Most Titles, Doubles: Max Mirnyi, Daniel Nestor (4)
Oldest Champion: Andres Gimeno, 34, in 1972
Youngest Champion: Michael Chang, 17, in 1989
Lowest-Ranked Champion (since 1979): No. 66 Gustavo Kuerten in 1997
Most Match Wins: Rafael Nadal (86)

You May Also Like: Remember Paris, 2005: Chang On Nadal's First Triumph

2018 Finals
Singles: [1] Rafael Nadal (ESP) d [7] Dominic Thiem 64 63 62   Read & Watch
Doubles: [6] Pierre-Hugues Herbert (FRA) / Nicolas Mahut (FRA) d [2] Oliver Marach (AUT) / Mate Pavic (CRO) 62 76(4)  Read More

Hashtag: #RG19
Facebook: @RolandGarros
Twitter: @rolandgarros
Instagram: @rolandgarros

Did You Know... Roland Garros was the first Grand Slam tournament to join the "Open" era in 1968, and since then many tennis greats have graced the famous clay courts, including Bjorn Borg, Ivan Lendl, Mats Wilander, Gustavo Kuerten, Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic. In 1983, Yannick Noah became the first, and so far only, Frenchman to win the singles title. 

Infosys powers real-time insights for every point

More stories like this in: