Hurkacz Uses Video Review To Overturn Call
The World No. 37 hit a shot that was called out while serving at 4-2, 30/15 in the third set, but chair umpire John Blom overruled the linesman, calling the ball in. Schwartzman missed the ensuing shot and Blom ordered the point replayed, believing that the Argentine had been affected by the call. Hurkacz called for a review of that decision thinking that his opponent was not impacted.
Using video review to look back at the footage and sound, Blom determined that the linesman's call came after Schwartzman made contact, reasoning that it did not interfere with the Argentine’s shot. As a result, Blom awarded the point to Hurkacz.
"I think that's a really good idea, especially those are the right calls or the things that can get a little bit messy during the match, because sometimes you feel you hit a winner and the guy touched the ball," Hurkacz said. "I think it's helpful, helpful to improve the game."
Schwartzman, who disagreed with the decision, was still able to find a lighter side of the situation.
"It was funny, but it's okay," Schwartzman said.