© Tony O'Brien/Getty Images

Two-time champion Andy Murray will compete in Wimbledon men's singles for the first time since 2017 after receiving a wild card.

Former Champ Murray, #NextGenATP Alcaraz Lead Wimbledon Wild Cards

All England Club announces five initial wild cards for 2021 Championships

Two-time Wimbledon champion Andy Murray is among the five players that have received a wild card into this year’s Championships, the All England Club announced on Wednesday.

The former World No. 1 delighted fans on Centre Court in 2013 when he became the first British man to win the singles title since Fred Perry, ending the country’s 77-year wait for a home champion. His last appearance in singles at Wimbledon was in 2017, and he played men’s doubles (w/Herbert) and mixed doubles (w/S. Williams) in 2019.

You May Also Like: Wimbledon Set For Full Capacity Crowds On Final Weekend

Murray, who lifted the singles trophy again in 2016, will be joined by three more British men in the draw after Liam Broady, Jay Clarke and Jack Draper also received wild cards. 

#NextGenATP Spaniard Carlos Alcaraz will make his Wimbledon main draw debut after receiving the last of the five initial wild cards announced. The 18-year-old has turned heads in his previous two Grand Slam ventures, qualifying for the Australian Open and Roland Garros and reaching the second and third rounds, respectively.

There are three more singles wild cards still to be announced ahead of the start of The Championships, set to begin on 28 June. Five doubles teams were also awarded wild cards.

Men's Singles Wild Cards
Carlos Alcaraz (ESP)
Liam Broady (GBR)
Jay Clarke (GBR)
Jack Draper (GBR)
Andy Murray (GBR)
To be announced
To be announced
To be announced

Men's Doubles Wild Cards
Liam Broady (GBR) / Ryan Peniston (GBR)
Jay Clarke (GBR) / Marius Copil (ROU)
Lloyd Glasspool (GBR) / Harri Heliovaara (FIN)
Alastair Gray (GBR) / Aidan McHugh (GBR)
Stuart Parker (GBR) / James Ward (GBR)
To be announced
To be announced

Did You Know?
Wimbledon wild cards have been awarded since 1977. Only one wild card has ever gone on to win the men’s singles title, Goran Ivanisevic in 2001, and no wild card has won in women’s singles.