© Alexander Scheuber/Getty Images for Laureus

Carlos Alcaraz celebrates with his Laureus Breakthrough Of The Year Award.

Alcaraz Wins Laureus Breakthrough Of The Year Award

Spaniard is fourth ATP Tour player to receive the award

Carlos Alcaraz won the Laureus Breakthrough of the Year Award, it was announced Monday evening at a ceremony in Paris.

Alcaraz is the fourth ATP Tour player to earn the honour after Marat Safin (2001), Rafael Nadal (2006) and Andy Murray (2013). It is the second consecutive year a tennis player has won the award after Emma Raducanu did so in 2022.

"A very special night in Paris! πŸ†πŸ˜ Thank you for this Laureus World Breakthrough of the Year Award! 😊" Alcaraz wrote on Twitter. "Thank you to the academy and everyone who made this possible. And of course congratulations to all the winners and nominees! 😘"

— Laureus (@LaureusSport) May 8, 2023

Last year was a historic one for Alcaraz, who captured his first two ATP Masters 1000 titles in Miami and Madrid, lifted his maiden major trophy at the US Open and became the youngest World No. 1 in the history of the Pepperstone ATP Rankings (since 1973). The Spaniard capped it off by becoming the youngest year-end ATP No. 1 presented by Pepperstone.

Other nominees for the award were fellow tennis player Elena Rybakina, the Morocco men’s football team, figure skater Nathan Chen and track and field star Tobi Amusan.

Other tennis players who were nominated for an award were Rafael Nadal (World Sportsman of the Year), Iga Swiatek (World Sportswoman of the Year) and Diede de Groot (World Sportsperson of the Year).

More stories like this in: