The 2022 ATP Awards Nominees Are…

Young stars Alcaraz, Rune, Draper nominated in two categories
November 30, 2022
By ATP Staff

World No. 1 Carlos Alcaraz and coach Juan Carlos Ferrero have received a total of three nominations in the 2022 ATP Awards, with nominees revealed today for the four player-voted categories and for Coach of the Year.

Alcaraz and Ferrero pick up nods in the Most Improved and Coach categories, respectively, for a second straight year. The 19-year-old Alcaraz, who has already been honoured as the ATP No. 1 presented by Pepperstone, is also nominated for the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award for the first time, alongside Felix Auger-Aliassime, five-time winner Rafael Nadal, Casper Ruud and Frances Tiafoe.

Alcaraz will go up against two other young stars, Jack Draper and Holger Rune, and 25-year-old American Maxime Cressy for Most Improved Player of the Year. Draper, 20, and Rune, 19, are also among the five nominees for Newcomer of the Year, which includes #NextGenATP players who broke into the Top 100 for the first time in 2022.

Nominees for Comeback Player of the Year, Most Improved Player of the Year and the Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award are determined by an International Tennis Writers' Association (ITWA) vote. Coach of the Year nominees are selected through first-round voting by ATP coaches.

ATP Awards winners, including Fans' Favourite, will be revealed during Awards week, starting December 12th. Fans can vote for their favourite singles player and doubles team through Friday, 2 December. 

View the complete list of 2022 ATP Awards nominees:


Comeback Player of the Year: The player who has overcome serious injury in re-establishing himself as one of the top players on the ATP Tour.

Borna Coric
Dominic Thiem
Stan Wawrinka
Wu Yibing

Most Improved Player of the Year: The player who reached a significantly higher Pepperstone ATP Ranking by year’s end and who demonstrated an increasingly improved level of performance through the year.

Carlos Alcaraz
Maxime Cressy
Jack Draper
Holger Rune

Newcomer of the Year: The #NextGenATP player who broke into the Top 100 for the first time in 2022 and made the biggest impact on the ATP Tour this season.

Jack Draper
Jiri Lehecka
Ben Shelton
Chun-Hsin Tseng
Holger Rune

Stefan Edberg Sportsmanship Award: The player who, throughout the year, conducted himself at the highest level of professionalism and integrity, who competed with his fellow players with the utmost spirit of fairness and who promoted the game through his off-court activities.

Carlos Alcaraz
Felix Auger-Aliassime
Rafael Nadal
Casper Ruud
Frances Tiafoe


Coach of the Year: Nominated and voted on by fellow ATP coach members, this award goes to the ATP coach who helped guide his players to a higher level of performance during the year.

Juan Carlos Ferrero (Carlos Alcaraz)
Frederic Fontang (Felix Auger-Aliassime)
Goran Ivanisevic (Novak Djokovic)
Michael Russell (Taylor Fritz)
Christian Ruud (Casper Ruud)

Read More News View All News

View Related Videos View All Videos


Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store

Premier Partner

Platinum Partners

Gold Partners

Official Ball, Racquet and Tennis Accessory

Official Partners & Suppliers