Big Titles

Djokovic Ties Another Record, Extends Big Titles Lead

Serbian secures sixth Nitto ATP Finals trophy
November 20, 2022
By ATP Staff

Novak Djokovic continues to etch his name in the record books. The Serbian tied Roger Federer's record of six Nitto ATP Finals titles on Sunday in Turin.

The 35-year-old again extended his lead in the 'Big Titles' race when he defeated Casper Ruud 7-5, 6-3 in the championship match at the Pala Alpitour. He now owns 65 'Big Titles', which are 

trophies at a Grand Slam championship, the Nitto ATP Finals, an ATP Masters 1000 tournament or an Olympic singles gold medal.

Djokovic owns six more 'Big Titles' than any other player in history, with longtime rival Rafael Nadal (59) his closest competitor. Outside of Djokovic, Nadal and Federer (54), no other player holds more than 30 of the prestigious crowns (Pete Sampras, 30).

You May Also Like: History-Maker Djokovic Claims Nitto ATP Finals Crown

The Serbian first triumphed at the year-end championships in 2008, when the tournament was called the Tennis Masters Cup. Djokovic has obliterated the record of biggest gap between first and most recent Nitto ATP Finals titles at 14. Before his win Sunday, the previous record belonged to Sampras and Federer, who lifted their first and last season finale trophies eight years apart.

Djokovic triumphed in Turin without losing a set, earning a record $4,740,300 in prize money. He lost just one set en route to the title, claiming victories against Stefanos Tsitsipas, Andrey Rublev, Daniil Medvedev, Taylor Fritz and Ruud.

Djokovic's 'Big Title' win rate holds steady at one trophy for every 3.2 events played (65/209), while Nadal has claimed one 'Big Title' for every 3.5 tournaments he has played (59/207). The only other players who have won a 'Big Title' at a greater rate than once per five events played are Federer (4.4, 54/240) and Pete Sampras (4.9, 30/147).

Current and Former Champions' Big Titles Won (Records Since 1990)

Player Grand Slams Nitto ATP Finals 1000s Total^ (Avg)
Novak Djokovic 21/67 6/15 38/123 65/209 (3.2)
Rafael Nadal 22/66 0/11 36/128 59/207 (3.5)
Roger Federer 20/80 6/17 28/138 54/240 (4.4)
Pete Sampras 14/52 5/11 11/83 30/147 (4.9)
Andre Agassi 8/61 1/13 17/90 27/164 (6.1)
Andy Murray 3/55 1/8 14/109 20/175 (8.8)
Boris Becker* 2/26 2/6 5/51 9/84 (9.3)
Thomas Muster 1/29 0/4 8/53 9/87 (9.7)
Stefan Edberg** 3/28 0/4 4/45 7/79 (11.3)
Gustavo Kuerten 3/33 1/3 5/67 9/105 (11.6)
Jim Courier 4/38 0/4 5/71 9/114 (12.6)
Marcelo Rios 0/26 0/1 5/56 5/84 (16.8)
Marat Safin 2/41 0/3 5/87 7/133 (19)
Michael Chang*** 0/50 0/6 7/86 7/144 (20.6)
Andy Roddick 1/46 0/6 5/75 6/129 (22.5)

^ Includes Olympic Games gold medals and tournament participations
* Becker's four other Grand Slam titles came before 1990.
** Edberg's three other Grand Slam titles came before 1990.
*** Chang's one Grand Slam title came before 1990

Read More News View All News

View Related Videos View All Videos


Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store

Premier Partner

Platinum Partners

Gold Partners

Official Ball, Racquet and Tennis Accessory

Official Partners & Suppliers

Official Racket Sports Products Retailer

Official Tennis Club