United Cup

Hewitt, Radwanska, Majoli Among United Cup Captains

United Cup will take place from Thursday 29 December to Sunday 8 January 2023
December 07, 2022
Lleyton Hewitt will captain Australia's United Cup team in Sydney alongside Sam Stosur.
Getty Images Sport
Lleyton Hewitt will captain Australia's United Cup team in Sydney alongside Sam Stosur. By ATP Staff

Agnieszka Radwanska, Tim Henman and Gisela Dulko are among the high-profile names to join an all-star line-up of past and current tennis champions to captain teams at the inaugural United Cup.

The United Cup is a new annual mixed team event, played across three Australian cities - Brisbane, Perth and Sydney, set to launch the global tennis season from Thursday 29 December.

In Brisbane, former World No. 2 Radwanska will captain Team Poland in Group B, led by World No.1 Iga Swiatek and World No. 10 Hubert Hurkacz.

In Perth, former World No. 1 doubles player and Australian Open 2011 doubles champion Dulko will lead Team Argentina, who are drawn against Croatia and France in Group F.

Former World No. 4 and Roland Garros champion Iva Majoli will captain Croatia, with players Borna Coric and Donna Vekic to fly the flag for their country.

In Sydney, Tim Henman, who inspired a British tennis revival in the 1990s by becoming the first Briton to reach the men’s semi-finals at Wimbledon in 25 years, will captain Team Great Britain, which includes World No. 14 Cameron Norrie, Daniel Evans and Harriet Dart.

Former World No. 3 doubles player Marc Lopez will oversee Spain, a team featuring Rafael Nadal and Paula Badosa.

Home favourites Australia will also be in Sydney, and will be captained by former World No. 1 and two-time Grand Slam champion Lleyton Hewitt and former World No. 4 and multiple Grand Slam champion Sam Stosur in Group D.

Stosur is one of several high-profile “playing captains” to feature at the United Cup.

Others include Stan Wawrinka as captain of Team Switzerland, and Alexander Bublik overseeing Kazakhstan in the same group in Brisbane.

World No. 28 Grigor Dimitrov will captain Bulgaria while Kirsten Flipkens will captain Belgium and Grand Slam doubles champion Edouard Roger-Vasselin will captain France.

United Cup 2023 Team Captains

Host City  Group Country Captain
 Perth A Greece  Petros Tsitsipas
Belgium  Kirsten Flipkens 
Bulgaria  Grigor Dimitrov 
 F France  Edouard Roger-Vasselin 
Croatia  Iva Majoli 
Argentina  Gisela Dulko 
 Brisbane B Poland Agnieszka Radwanska & Dawid Celt
Switzerland Stan Wawrinka
Kazakhstan Alexander Bublik
 E Italy Vincenzo Santopadre
Brazil Rafael Pacharoni
Norway  Christian Ruud
 Sydney C United States David Witt
Germany Mischa Zverev
Czech Republic Jiri Vanek
 D Spain Marc Lopez
Australia Lleyton Hewitt & Sam Stosur
Great Britain Tim Henman


View Draw & Schedule

Pat Rafter Arena in Brisbane, RAC Arena in Perth and Ken Rosewall Arena in Sydney will host the United Cup group stage from Thursday 29 December to Wednesday 4 January 2023.

Each host city will feature two groups of three countries, competing in a round-robin format.

Each tie will comprise two men’s and two women’s singles matches and one mixed doubles match to be played across two days.

Group winners in each city will play off for one of three semi-final spots.

Three City Champions will advance to the United Cup Final Four in Sydney to be played at Ken Rosewall Arena from Friday 6 to Sunday 8 January. The next best performing team from the group stage will complete the quartet.

Group stage tickets for adults start from $40 and from $20 for children 14 years and under. Family passes (two adults and two children) start from $100.

The United Cup, an ATP-WTA event presented in partnership with Tennis Australia, offers USD $15 million in prize money as well as up to 500 Pepperstone ATP and 500 WTA rankings points.

Visit to purchase tickets and follow @UnitedCupTennis on social media for all the latest tournament news.

Read More News View All News

View Related Videos View All Videos


Get it on Google Play Download on the App Store

Premier Partner

Platinum Partners

Gold Partners

Official Ball, Racquet and Tennis Accessory

Official Partners & Suppliers